Skip to main content

Integrating Library Resources into Blackboard: Articles, Books & eBooks

Enhance your Blackboard Course Area by integrating full-text articles, databases and e-learning resources

Introduction

This page provides advice on how to create a link to library resources. It is possible to link directly to Onesearch for printed books, e-books, journal articles from anywhere in Blackboard. You can also link the material on you reading list directly from Blackboard to Onesearch. It is important that these links are created to ensure they don't go out of date and will work off campus. You can link to:
  • Ejournals
  • Ebooks
  • Databases
  • Articles
  • Print Materials

Create a link to library resources

1.Select the resource you want to link to from Blackboard e.g journal article
2.See 'Linking to specific types of resources' below to learn how to get the Permanent link that will work from within Blackboard.
3.See 'Create a link in Blackboard' below to learn how to paste the link into Blackboard.
 
 

Linking to specific types of resources

 

  • Ejournals
  • Go to search tools
  • Select ejournals option
  • Search for journal name
  • Copy link for journal and paste into Blackboard
  • Ebooks
  • Search OneSearch for the ebook
  • Apply book/ebook & Full Text Online facet
  • Click on Permalink.
  • Click on COPY, this provides link for article and paste into blackboard

 

  • Print material
     
  • Search OneSearch for the book 
  • Click on Permalink 
  • Click on Copy, this provides link for book and paste into blackboard.

 

  • Databases
     
  • Go to search tools
  • Select databases option
  • Search for database name
  • Click database names
  • Click on Permanent Link
  • Copy link for database from address bar and paste into blackboard
     
  • Articles
  • Search OneSearch for the article
  • Apply Journal Article Facet.
  • Click on  Permalink
  • Click on COPY, this provides link for article and paste into blackboard

If the article is not available through OneSearch:

  • Go to search tools
  • Select ejournals option
  • Enter the journal title
  • Navigate to the article title launch page on your screen
  • Do NOT just copy and paste the URL from your browser window –this is not likely to be a lasting workable link for students
  • Look for the Permalink or DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or Persistent Link given in the bibliographic data or in a top or side panel and copy that
  • URLs need to be preceded with https://ucd.idm.oclc.org/login?url=
  • DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) need to be preceded with https://ucd.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/

example:  https://ucd.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1136/bmj.g5080

 

  • Always ensure there are no spaces in your finally constructed string

 

 

 

 

Create a link in Blackboard

Create a link anywhere in Blackboard

1. Login to your blackboard account and navigate to your course

2. Ensure the Edit button is On

3.Click the button for the course component where you want to add the links – e.g. module information
 

4. Position your mouse over the "Build content" menu and click on 'Web Link'

5. Type a name for the link e.g (journal article), paste the URL, enter a description if required click Submit

 

© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License