Skip to main content

Collection Services, UCD Library: Services for Academics

This guide provides information on the Collection Services Unit and the services it offers to academics, researchers, and undergraduates.

Services for teaching and research

If you would like to order either teaching materials for your module(s) or research-oriented material, please go to our Ordering Books page and fill out the online form.

If you wish to subscribe to a print or online journal/resource, please contact the Collection Development and Description Librarian (CDDL) for your School. 

Please be aware that budget restrictions and other external factors may impact on the Library's ability to subscribe to additional journals and databases.

In addition to direct journal subscriptions, UCD Library also provides access to content through the IReL Consortium.

Please click here for more information on UCD Library's journal and database subscriptions.

 

Click here to request an Interlibrary Loan. (Please note that this is a charged service.)


Where an item is unavailable either in print or electronically in our Library, we can often acquire a copy of it from another Library using our Inter-Library Loan service.

Material is sourced from a range of Irish, UK and international libraries.

For more information on our Inter-Library Loan service, please click here.

Books in the general collection can be borrowed for 2 weeks at a time by undergraduates.

 

If you feel it would support your students to move a book to short loan (48 hours) or a 4 hour loan you can arrange this by contacting client.services@ucd.ie.

 

Click here for more information on borrowing.

When submitting a new programme proposal for approval you will need to consider:

  • What is the current strength of the Library collection in your proposed area of study?
  • Is there a sufficiency of materials to support the number of students envisaged?
  • Are other courses drawing on these collections at the same time?
  • Will new books and journals require purchase and when will they be needed?
  • Is start up funding available to develop the collection?
  • Will recurrent expenditure be required. E.g. annual journal subscriptions?

How can the Library help?

When designing a new programme the Library can help with compiling reading lists. We can advise on items of value we already have in the collection and order in items to enhance what is already in place.

For further information contact your Collection Development and Description Librarian (CDDL).

Form A: New Programme Proposal 

It is possible to provide links to electronic journal articles, e-books and databases within Blackboard. However, when these links are copied at “article level” they are not stable. They may work today but not tomorrow, they may not work on all computers, and don’t provide off campus access to the material.

For detailed instructions on the best way to add links see our Integrating Library Resources into Blackboard guide.

Loading
© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License