Skip to main content

EndNote: Adding References

Introduction to Library support for EndNote x7 and EndNote Online

Adding references to EndNote

There are a number of ways of adding references to your EndNote X7 library.

Manually adding references

  • Select References  > New Reference or click on  to create a new record.
  • Select a Reference Type.
  • Select the reference type of the item you are adding to your library from the pull-down Reference Type list at the top of the empty record.

Note about Entering Data

Do not format the data as you enter it if the formatting would apply to the entire field. For example, do not italicise or bold author names or journal names. If formatting applies to only some words or characters in a field, then you can apply that special formatting using the formatting toolbar. You do not need to enter data in every field.

From OneSearch

  • Search OneSearch to find information on your topic
  • From the displayed results click on the folder icon beside the first five references
  • These references will be added to the large folder at the top of the screen
  • Click on the folder to view your selected references.
  • Go to the Export As Dropdown menu and select EndNote
  • Depending on your browser you may be asked to save a file to your computer (Chrome) or open with ResearchSoft Direct Export (Firefox)
  • If you save a file, click on the file and the references will be added to your Endnote Library. If you select ResearchSoft Direct Export the references will be added to your EndNote Library

From Databases

  • Find the database you want to search and conduct your search and select records.
  • Select the Export to EndNote option. You may have to click on a save/export link first, depending on the layout of the database.
  • If you have an EndNote library open already, references will be imported into this library.
  • If you don't have one open: EndNote will ask to select which library you wish to import the references to.

Using PDFs you have already saved

If you have built up a collection of references which you would like to be the basis of an EndNote Library, you can easily import them.

  • In your EndNote library select File > Import … > File
  • In the pop-up window Import File click on Choose … and select the saved PDF.
  • Select the PDF under Import Option.
  • Click on Import and your references will be imported into your library.

You can bring in multiple PDFs by selecting File > Import … > Folder
NB. How successful you are when importing PDFs depend on how the PDF is formatted. EndNote imports the references by extracting Digital Object identifiers (DOI) from PDF files and if the DOI isn't present it cannot bring in the references.

There are three ways of adding references to your Endnote Online Library:

Manually adding references

  • Click on the Collect tab and then on the New Reference link.
  • Before you start entering your information you need to select the appropriate Reference Type. You need to change it to reflect the reference you adding to your library (e.g. Book, Journal Article, Conference Proceeding).
  • Creating the reference is a simple matter of filling in the fields with the information that you have, e.g. author, title or publisher.
  • Click in the field you want to edit and it will expand to allow you to enter your information. Clicking outside the box automatically saves the information you have entered.

From OneSearch

  • Search OneSearch to find information on your topic
  • From the displayed results click on the folder icon beside the first five references
  • These references will be added to the large folder at the top of the screen
  • Click on the folder to view your selected references.
  • Go to the Export As Dropdown menu and select EndNote
  • From the next screen select Save File and save the file to your computer.
  • Go back to Endnote Online
  • Click on the Collect tab and select import references
  • In the File: box click on browse and locate the file you just saved to your computer. It will be saved in the Downloads folder in the My Documents folder.
  • From the Filter: dropdown menu scroll down until you locate Proquest
  • In the To: dropdown menu select the Unfiled folder and Click on Import
  • Click on the My references Tab, select Unfiled folder and you will see your references.

From Databases

There are two ways of adding references from databases. The method you choose depends on whether the database offers a direct export option.

  • Search your database and select your references.
  • Locate and enter the export option in your database interface.
  • If the Direct Export to EndNote Web is listed as an option select this and the database will add your reference to the unfiled folder in your EndNote Online library. You may be asked to login if you haven't been already in your library.
  • If there is no option for Direct Export, there will be usually an option to export to EndNote or at the very least to RIS Format.
  • Select this option and save the file to your computer.
  • Go back to Endnote Online.
  • Click on the Collect tab and select Import References.
  • In the File: box click on browse and locate the file you just saved to your computer.
  • From the Filter: dropdown menu scroll down until you locate the database you searched.
  • In the To: dropdown menu select the Unfiled folder and Click on Import.

 

Loading
© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License