Skip to main content

EndNote: EndNote and Word

Introduction to Library support for EndNote x7 and EndNote Online

EndNote and Word

When EndNote X7 is installed on your computer it in turns installs a new menu tab in Microsoft Word called EndNote X7. This menu allows you to insert your references in a Word document. You will need to have your EndNote library open at all times to allow you to insert your references.

Inserting references

Use Insert Citation Insert Citationto find the references you want and to insert them into your document.

  • Clicking on Insert Citation will open a search box.  
  • Enter the search term and click on search.
  • You will be presented with a list of references that meet your search criteria.
  • Select the reference that you want to insert.
  • You can select multiple references by holding the control key while you click on the references you want.
  • When you have selected your references click OK and your references will be added to your document at the point where you have placed your cursor.
  • You will also see a bibliograpy created at the end of the document.

Editing citations

If you have inserted references in your document and need to remove or edit them you must always use the edit citations edit and manage citationsoption.

First click on the reference you want to remove or edit and then select Manage and Edit Citation(s).

Remove Citations

  • Highlight the reference you want to remove.
  • Click on the Edit Reference drop down menu on the right and select Remove Citation and then click on OK.
  • The chosen reference will be removed from your document.

Add an extra citation where there already is a citation

  • First click on the citation where you want to add an extra citation and then select Manage and Edit Citation(s).
  • Highlight the citation in question.
  • Click on the Edit Reference drop down menu on the right and select Insert Citation.
  • This will open the search interface.
  • Search for the reference you want to add to your document and click on Insert when you have chosen it.
  • Click OK and the chosen reference will be added to your document.

Add page numbers to a citation

  • First click on the citation where you want to add page numbers and then select Manage and Edit Citation(s).
  • Highlight the citation in question.
  • At the bottom of the screen select the suffix option.
  • Enter the notation for page numbers of your chosen referencing style.
  • Click OK and the page numbes willl be added to your chosen citation.

Selecting your referencing style

You can select or change your referencing style at any stage of writing.

  • Open the style dropdown menu Choose your Referencing style
  • If the style you want to use is not listed click on Select Another Style.
  • Browse to the style you want and click OK.
  • The citations and bibliography in your Word document will change to reflect the new style you've chosen.

Merge separate chapters into a master document

EndNote allows you to combine a number of chapters into one document.

  • Open the first document you want to merge and choose the Convert to Unformatted Citations optionwhich is in the Convert Citations and Bibliography dropdown menu.
  • Clicking this will remove the formatted bibliography and citations, and replace all citations with plain-text placeholders that EndNote can use when assembling the citations and bibliography when combining all chapters together.
  • Repeat this for all chapters and then copy and paste them into a new document. When ready click on Update Citations and Bibliography and EndNote will recreate the citations and bibliography for your document.
  • NB: This will work but in case anything goes wrong it is prudent to work from a back up of your documents.

Convert to Plain Text

Publishers request that plain text versions of your documents be sent to them because field coding used for EndNote citations can sometimes cause problems for publishers’ desktop publishing programs.

  • Open the document you want to convert to plain text and choose the Convert to Plain Text option  which is in the Convert Citations and Bibliography dropdown menu.
  • If you haven't saved your document you will prompted to do so. Be sure to do this as you will need the version of the document with the EndNote coding for future editing.
  • When you have finished you will have two versions of your document. If you can't tell them apart, click on a citation or the bibliography. If a grey highlight appears that is the version with the EndNote coding.
  • NB: This will work but in case anything goes wrong it is prudent to work from a back up of your documents.

In order to insert references from your EndNote Online Library into a Microsoft Word document you will need to install the Cite While You Write toolbar. You can install this from the Format tab in Endnote Online.

Inserting references

Use Insert Citation Insert Citationto find the references you want and to insert them into your document.

  • Clicking on Insert Citation will open a search box.  
  • Enter the search term and click on search.
  • You will be presented with a list of references that meet your search criteria.
  • Select the reference that you want to insert.
  • You can select multiple references by holding the Control key while you click on the references you want.
  • When you have selected your references click OK and your references will be added to your document at the point where you have placed your cursor.
  • You will also see a bibliograpy created at the end of the document.

Editing citations

If you have inserted references in your document and need to remove or edit them you must always use the edit citations option.

First click on the reference you want to remove or edit and then select Manage and Edit Citation(s)

Remove Citations

  • Highlight the reference you want to remove.
  • Click on Edit Reference drop down menu on the right and select Remove Citation and then click on OK.
  • The chosen reference will be removed from your document.

Add an extra citation where there already is a citation

  • First click on the citation where you want to add an extra citation and then select Edit Citation(s).
  • Highlight the citation in question.
  • Click on the Edit Reference drop down menu on the right and select Insert Citation.
  • This will open the search interface.
  • Search for the reference you want to add to your document and click on Insert when you have chosen it.
  • Click OK and the chosen reference will be added to your document.

Add page numbers to a citation

  • First click on the citation where you want to add page numbers and then select Edit Citation(s).
  • Highlight the citation in question.
  • At the bottom of the screen select the suffix option
  • Enter the notation for page numbers of your chosen referencing style.
  • Click OK and the page numbers will be added to your chosen citation.

Selecting your referencing style

You can select or change your referencing style at any stage of writing.

  • Open the Style dropdown menu Choose your Referencing style
  • The dropdown menu displays all the styles to the latter D. If the style you want to use is not listed click on Select Another Style, which is the first option listed.
  • Browse to the style you want and click OK.
  • The citations and bibliography in your Word document will change to reflect the new style you've chosen.

Merge chapters into a master document

EndNote allows you to combine a number of chapters into one document.

  • Open the first document you want to merge and choose the Convert to Unformatted Citations optionwhich is in the Convert Citations and Bibliography dropdown menu.
  • Clicking this will remove the formatted bibliography and citations, and replace all citations with plain-text placeholders that EndNote can use when assembling the citations and bibliography when combining all chapters together.
  • Repeat this for all chapters and then copy and paste them into a new document, When ready click on Update Citations and Bibliography and EndNote will recreate the citations and bibliography for your document.
  • NB: This will work but in case anything goes wrong it is prudent to work from a back up of your documents.

Convert to Plain Text

Publishers request that plain text versions of your documents be sent to them because field coding used for EndNote citations can sometimes cause problems for publishers’ desktop publishing programs.

  • Open the document you want to convert to plain text and choose the Convert to Plain Text option  which is in the Convert Citations and Bibliography dropdown menu.
  • If you haven't saved your document you will prompted to do so. Be sure to do this as you will need the version of the document with the EndNote coding for future editing.
  • When you have finished you will have two versions of your document. If you can't tell them apart, click on a citation or the bibliography. If a grey highlight appears that is the version with the EndNote coding.
  • NB: This will work but in case anything goes wrong it is prudent to work from a back up of your documents.
Loading
© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License