Skip to main content

Map Collections at UCD and on the Web: Historic Maps of Dublin

Find, access and purchase maps at UCD Library. Lists of map resources and suppliers on the web. Examples of map symbols and scales. Copyright and booking forms.

Selection of Images

This presentation gives step-by-step details on how to find maps on a variety of websites including the David Rumsey collections, UCD Digital Library, the National Library of Ireland and Harvard's Geospatial Library.

St Jude's Parish Map 1864

5 ft to 1 Mile 1847

GOAD Fire Insurance Map 1893

Historic Maps of Dublin

 

YEAR MAP TITLE MAP MAKER NOTES RICHVIEW LIBRARY LOCATION OTHER LOCATION / INFORMATION
           
1610

Dubline

John Speed

Link is to map on Wikimedia Commons website

Cabinet 2 : Number 8

Trinity College Dublin Library and Perry Castaneda Library, University of Texas

1673

The city and suburbs of Dublin from Kilmainham to Ringsend...

Bernard de Gomme

 

Cabinet 2 : Number 10

Reproduced in Dublin Part 2, 1610 to 1756 (Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 19), 2008, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 6

1673

Dublin Castle plan

 

Sourced from the Staffordshire Record Office, UK

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 2, 1610 to 1756 (Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 19), 2008, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 7

1680

Corner of Grafton Street and Nassau Street

John Greene

Link is to maps held in Dublin City Library & Archive - Wide Street Commissioner Maps 564 and 565

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 2, 1610 to 1756 (Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 19), 2008, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map numbers 8 & 9

1685

A draught of the Castle of Dublin at present

Thomas Phillips

Link is to map held in the National Library of Ireland

   

1685

An exact survey of city of Dublin, and part of the harbour

Thomas Phillips

   

Reproduced in Dublin Part 2, 1610 to 1756 (Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 19), 2008, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 10

1714

Dublin

Hermann Moll

Link is to map held in Dublin City Library and Archive

   

1721

Essex Street area

John Greene

Link is to map held in Dublin City Library & Archive - Wide Street Commission Map 654

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 2, 1610 to 1756 (Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 19), 2008, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 11

1728

A map of the city and suburbs of Dublin

Charles Brooking

With vignettes of Dublin buildings

Cabinet 2 : Number 12

Reproduced in Dublin Part 2, 1610 to 1756 (Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 19), 2008, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 12

1747

Lower Abbey Street / North Strand junction

 

Link is to map held in Dublin City Library & Archive - Wide Street Commission Map 219_1

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 2, 1610 to 1756 (Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 19), 2008, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 14

1751

Survey of the present streets immediately leading to His Majesty's Royal Pallace of Castle of Dublin

 

Shows the area prior to the existence of Parliament Street. Held in National Gallery of Ireland

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 2, 1610 to 1756 (Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no.19), 2008, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 15

1756

An exact survey of the city and suburbs of Dublin

John Rocque

Link is to image of the 4 maps stitched together by Harvard University Library

Click on this link to open a georeferenced version of this John Rocque map

This PowerPoint shows you how to find and open the geo-referenced versions of the 1756 John Rocque map of Dublin

Cabinet 2 : Numbers 18 to 21

Reproduced on a single sheet in Dublin Part 2, 1610 to 1756 (Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 19), 2008, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 16

 

1756

A plan of the city of Dublin and the environs on the same scale of London, Paris & Rome

John Rocque

Link is to map held in Harvard University Library

   

1757

A Survey of the City, Harbour, Bay and Environs of Dublin on the same Scale as those of London, Paris & Rome

John Rocque

Link is to map held in Bibliothèque nationale de France

   

1757

A pocket plan of the City and Suburbs of Dublin

John Rocque

 

Cabinet 2 : Number 22

 

1757

Survey of the city and suburbs of Dublin, with the division of the parishes reduc'd from the large plan in four sheets

John Rocque

Link is to map held in Bibliothèque nationale de France

   

1757

Parliament Street

Jonathan Barker

Link is to map held in Dublin City Library & Archive - Wide Street Commission Map 162_1

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 8

1760

An actual survey of the County of Dublin

John Rocque

The area covering South County Dublin is available to view here

Select Layers and click in checkbox for Rocque's map

Cabinet 2 : Numbers 22 to 26

 

1760

A new plan of Dublin

Compiled for Peter Wilson

Printed in Wilson's Dublin Directory 1760

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 6

1764

Plan de la Ville de Dublin

Jacques-Nicholas Bellin

Link is to map held in Bibliothèque nationale de France

 

Also available online in the David Rumsey Map Collection

1767

A new plan of Dublin

Compiled for Peter Wilson

Link is to map held in Dublin City Library and Archive

   

1770 - 1840

Longfield Map Collection

John Longfield / John Brownrigg / Thomas Murray

Maps are held in the National Library of Ireland. All counties, except Kerry, are included in the collection. Dublin City & County represent more than 40% of all maps.

 

The Longfield Maps in the National Library of Ireland : an Agenda for Research   This article was published by J.H. Andrews in Irish Geography, 1991

1773

A survey of the City Harbour Bay and Environs of Dublin on the same Scale as those of London Paris and Rome by John Rocque...with improvements and additions by Mr Bernard Scalé

John Rocque / Bernard Scalé

Link is to map held in the UCD Digital Library

Cabinet 2 : Number 30

 

1773

An Accurate Survey of the City and Suburbs of Dublin / by Mr. Rocque with Additions, and Improvements by Mr Bernard Scalé

John Rocque / Bernard Scalé

Link is to map held in Bibliothèque nationale de France

 

   

1780

A plan of Dublin

Robert Pool / John Cash

Link is to map in Pool & Cash book on the Internet Archive

Cabinet 2 : Number 34

Printed in Pool and Cash's Views of the most remarkable public buildings, monuments and other edifices in the city of Dublin

1782

A plan of Dublin

Samuel Byron

This link is to map in Trinity College Library. Map printed for William Wilson in The gentleman's and citizen's almanack

   

1782

Plan of the city of Dublin : taken from an actual survey from the Universal Scots Almanack

John Robertson

Link is to map held in Harvard University Library

   

1790

A plan of Baggot Street

John Roe

Link is to map held in Dublin City Library & Archive - Wide Street Commission Map 355_1

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 14

1790

Plan for D'Olier Street and Westmoreland Street

 

Link is to map held in Dublin City Library & Archive - Wide Street Commission Map 196

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 9

1793

The Little Green [off Halston Street]

 

Link is to map held in Dublin City Library & Archive - Wide Street Commission Map 242_2

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 11

1797

A plan of the City of Dublin

William Faden

Link is to copy held in The Library of Congress

   

1798

Modern plan of the City and Environs of Dublin

William M Wilson

Link is to copy on MAPCO : Map And Plan Collection Online website

   

1801

New plan of the City of Dublin

 

Map printed in Wilson's Dublin directory

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 12

1810

An accurate plan of Dublin

Nathaniel Jefferys

Map printed in An Englishman's descriptive account of Dublin...

 

Held in UCD Library Special Collections

1811

City of Dublin

Thomas Campbell

 

Cabinet 2 : Number 37

Reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 17

1811

Four Courts and surrounding properties

 

Link is to map held in Dublin City Library & Archive - Wide Street Commission Map 48_1

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 15

1812

New and improved plan of the City of Dublin

William Corbet for Society of the Diffusion of Useful Knowledge

Link is to map held in Dublin City Library & Archive

   

1816

Taylor's map of the environs of Dublin, extending 10 to 14 miles from the castle

John Taylor

The area covering South County Dublin is available to view here

Select Layers and click in checkbox for Taylor's map

Cabinet 2 : Number 40

Extract enlarged and centred on the City is reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 18

1818

Plan of Dublin

 

Link is to map on the Internet Archive in History of the city of Dublin, from the earliest accounts to the present time, by Warburton, Whitelaw and Walsh, published 1818

 

Held in UCD Library Special Collections

1821

Map of the County of Dublin

William Duncan

Published on 8 sheets. The area covering South County Dublin is available to view here

Select Layers and click in checkbox for Duncan's map

Cabinet 2 : Numbers 42-47

Colour extract enlarged and centred on the City is reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 19

1822

Cooke's royal map of Dublin

J Cooke

Link is to map available via Old Maps Online

Colour map which includes vignettes of many Dublin buildings.

 

Reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Map number 20

1836

Dublin

Drawn by W.B. Clarke for Society for the Diffusion of Useful Knowledge

Link is to map in David Rumsey Map Collection

Includes drawings of 14 of the principal buildings in Dublin

Cabinet 2 : Number 49

 

1837

The environs of Dublin

Drawn by B.R. Davies for Society for the Diffusion of Useful Knowledge

Link is to map in David Rumsey Map Collection

Cabinet 2 : Number 51

 

1843

Dublin

Ordnance Survey

Link is to OSi free map viewer which includes Dublin first edition 6inch (1:10,560) maps.

 

 

Further information about the first edition 6inch mapping series is available here

1846

City of Dublin

 

A bird's eye-view of Dublin. This panoramic view was published with the Illustrated London News

Cabinet 2 : Number 54

Reproduced in Dublin Part 3, 1756 to 1847 (Irish Historic Town Atlas, no. 26), 2014, Dublin, Royal Irish Academy. Plate number 10

1847

Dublin City

Ordnance Survey

Link is to Ordnance Survey Ireland (OSi) 19th Century Historical Maps collection in the UCD Digital Library. See section 6.1

33 maps of Dublin city (covers area between the canals) published at scale of 5 feet to 1 mile

Cabinet 2 : Numbers 70 to 102

 

1850

The environs of Dublin

Drawn by B.R. Davies for Society for the Diffusion of Useful Knowledge

Link is to map held in UCD Digital Library

Published by Edward Stanford

   

1853

The environs of Dublin

Drawn by B.R. Davies for Society for the Diffusion of Useful Knowledge

Link is to map held in Harvard University Library.

Published by George Cox

   

1855

Fraser's map of Dublin & environs

Ordnance Survey

Link is to map held in UCD Digital Library

   

1859

Fraser's map of Dublin and environs with street references

Ordnance Survey

Link is to map held in UCD Digital Library

   

1864

Dublin City

Ordnance Survey

Link is to Ordnance Survey Ireland (OSi) 19th Century Historical Maps collection in the UCD Digital Library. See section 6.1.

33 maps of Dublin city (covers area between the canals) published at scale of 5 feet to 1 mile

Cabinet 2 : Numbers 70 to 102

 

1860s/ 1870s

Dublin Parish Maps

Ordnance Survey

Originally published at 15 inches to 1 mile. Colour maps.

Richview Workroom. Search for parish name via UCD Library catalogue

Approx 80 individual parishes available. Parishes are shown on this map of County Dublin published in the Memorial Atlas of Ireland published by L.J. Richards & Company of Philadelphia, 1901

1860s to 1890s

Dublin Suburbs

Ordnance Survey

Link is to Ordnance Survey Ireland (OSi) 19th Century Historical Maps collection in the UCD Digital Library. See section 6.2.

Maps published at scale of 5 feet to 1 mile

   

1874 to 1898

Thom's Map of the City of Dublin and its environs

Ordnance Survey

Link is to 9 copies held in UCD Digital Library

Published in Thom's Almanac. The 1890 map shows the boundaries for the Dublin townships.

   

1883

Plan of the city of Dublin

Letts, Son & Co

Link is to copy in David Rumsey Map Collection

   

1893

Insurance Plan of the City of Dublin Maps

GOAD

Link is to maps held in British Library. 20 maps published at scale 1:480

   

1907

New map of the City of Dublin and its environs

M.H. Gill & Sons

Link is to map held in UCD Digital Library. Tram routes shown in red.

   

1906 to 1909

Dublin

Ordnance Survey

Link is to OSi free map viewer which includes Dublin 25inch (1:2,500) maps.

 

Further information about the 25inch mapping series is available here

1909

Plan of Dublin

Bartholomew

Link is to map hosted by the Internet Archive. Use the + button to zoom in on and enlarge this street map of the central area of Dublin.

 

The map is contained in the guidebook Ireland (Part 1) Northern Counties including Dublin and Neighbourhood by MJB Baddeley. (Click on the magnifying glass to see better image)