Skip to main content

Map Collections at UCD and on the Web: Historic Maps Carlow - Wicklow

Find, access and purchase maps at UCD Library. Lists of map resources and suppliers on the web. Examples of map symbols and scales. Copyright and booking forms.

Ordnance Survey Ireland (OSI) 19th Century Historical Maps

A collection of mainly 19th century maps of almost 150 cities, towns, and villages in the Republic of Ireland.

Most are Town Plans which were surveyed at either five or ten foot to one mile scale between 1837 and 1896.

 

The remainder were produced by enlargement of the 1/2500 maps between 1892 and 1911.

 

View the entire collection online in the UCD Digital Library.

Killeshin Church, Carlow, 1873 

Historical Maps by County A-G

 

 

Carlow

Cloppenburg Map of Udrone in Carlow, 1630

Thomas Moland's Survey of Carlow, 1703 

Charles Colombine's Map, 1735

 

Cavan

A selection of medium to high resolution images of maps relating to County Cavan, including 13 plates from Taylor & Skinner's 1778 road book, and maps by Petty, 1685; Scale, 1776; Coote, 1800; Lewis, 1839; Adlard 1850.

 

Clare

County Clare 1736 - 1922 from the David Rumsey Map Collection  Clare County Library have made maps relating to Clare from many eras and sources available by copying atlases and maps from the online collections published by David Rumsey.

Grand Jury Maps 1787

Petty’s Down Survey Barony Maps (1658-59) & ‘Hiberniae Delineatio’ County Map (1685)

Maps and Views of County Clare in the United Kingdom Hydrographic Office

O Dalaigh, Brian. (2012) Ennis: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

 

Cork


O'Flanagan, Patrick. (1988) Bandon: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

Kelly, David and O'Keeffe, Tadgh. (2015) Youghal: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

Cork Past and Present is a service of Cork City Libraries which makes the following maps available online:

  • Grand Jury Map of County Cork 1811

 

  • 1545: Plan of Cork City 
  • Pacata Hibernia map, 1585-1600 
  • Pacata Hibernia map modified by Robert Walker, 1595
  • Corcke City Map, 1610 
  • The City of Cork map, 1690 
  • John Carty Plan of Cork city,1726 
  • Smith's map of Cork city, 1750
  • Rocque's map of Cork city,1759 - http://calvert.hul.harvard.edu:8080/opengeoportal/  - this gives you the option to see the geo-referenced version of the 1759 map - you can either look for Cork by typing into the search box on the top right of the map - or you can zoom into Cork on the world map shown. Either way a list of relevant maps will appear on the left hand side. If you tick the preview box the Rocque map will appear on the base map. If you click on the map title in the left hand side you get the option to use the opacity slider - so you can make the Rocque map transparent.
  • Connor's map of Cork city,1774 
  • Beauford's map of Cork city,1801
  • Chalmer's Local Survey map of Cork city, 1832 
  • Thomas Holt's map of Cork city & suburbs, 1832 
  • Moore's National Exhibition map of Cork city & harbour, 1852
  • Ordnance Survey hand-coloured map, c. 1870 
  • Wilkie's map of Cork city, 1872  
  • Guy's map of Cork city, 1888 
  • Guy's map of Cork city, 1893
  • Goad plans of Cork City, 19th and 20th Century

 

Goad Fire Insurance Plans.

From 1885 the firm of Charles E. Goad produced fire insurance plans for the commercial areas of more than 100 towns in Britain and Ireland. These plans which showed details regarding access to water, routes to building, room arrangements, locations of doors & windows, thickness of walls, information on construction materials, type of roof, locations of combustible materials, were used by fire insurance companies and fire fighters. The British Library has information about Goad and fire insurance plans. 19th century Cork GOAD plans are available online from The British Library.  Check the GPEP Map Library Catalogue for their holdings of GOAD maps.

 

Derry

Digital Atlas of Derry-Londonderry. Based on content from Irish Historic Towns Atlas, no. 15, Derry~Londonderry by Avril Thomas (Royal Irish Academy, Dublin, 2005), the Digital Atlas provides users with historical and topographical information about the city of Derry for selected time-periods.

 

Donegal

Ulster Ancestry provide free on-line versions of Ulster maps for the counties of Antrim, Armagh, Donegal, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry, Tyrone. The map for Donegal shows Letterkenny, Donegal Town, Raphoe, Stranorlar, Lifford and Carndonagh.

Ordnance Survey first edition 6inch map 1835 (with 1848 revisions to parts)  http://gis.donegal.ie/librarymaps/index/index.htm

 

Galway

James Hardiman’s The history of the town and county of the town of Galway, 1820. This is also available in Richview Library and includes maps.

Claffey, J.A. (2009) Tuam: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

A map of the county of Galway, [published in 16 sheets] by William Larkin, 1819 

Plan de Galloway by Jacques Nicolas Bellin, 1764

Large engraved map of Galway, circa 1650 [Hardiman collection]

Map of Galway, by Braun and Hogenberg, 1617

Province of Connaught with the Citie of Galway by John Speed, 1610

Digital Atlas of Galway created by Irish Historic Town Atlas, et al. The Digital Atlas of Galway provides users with historical and topographical information about the city for selected time-periods. 

Historical Maps by County K-M

Kerry

Iveragh, Co. Kerry, in 1811 : Alexander Nimmo's map for the Bogs Commissioners of 1809-1814 available to borrow from James Joyce and Richview Libraries.

 

Kildare

Noble & Keenan's map of the County of Kildare (1752) A reprint is also held in Richview Library

Alexander Taylor's map of County Kildare (1783) reprint in Richview Library

Andrews, J.H. (1986) Kildare: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

Horner, A. (1995) Maynooth: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

Four-inch Sketch of the Curragh of Kildare (circa 1870s) Dublin: Ordnance Survey Office

The Curragh District, one inch to one mile, (1926) Dublin: Ordnance Survey Ireland

 

Kilkenny

Kilkenny city map (1900) reprint available from Richview Library

Bradley, J. (2000) Kilkenny: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

Links to 24 maps from 1564 to 1922 showing the county of Kilkenny

A range of schematic maps which show the rivers, towns, baronies, and parishes of Kilkenny displayed on them

 

 

Laois

The Queen’s County  Baronies map from 1881 and Lewis's 1837 Queen's County Map are available online from Irish Midlands Ancestry.

 

Leitrim

This site gathers together historic and contemporary maps of Mohill and South County Leitrim

The Leitrim-Roscommon Genealogy website contains outline maps for the Townlands, Civil Parishes, Baronies, Poor Law Unions and Catholic Parishes in Leitrim

 

Limerick

 

Goad Fire Insurance Plans.

From 1885 the firm of Charles E. Goad produced fire insurance plans for the commercial areas of more than 100 towns in Britain and Ireland. These plans which showed details regarding access to water, routes to building, room arrangements, locations of doors & windows, thickness of walls, information on construction materials, type of roof, locations of combustible materials, were used by fire insurance companies and fire fighters. The British Library has information about Goad and fire insurance plans. 19th century Limerick GOAD plans are available online from The British Library.  Check the GPEP Map Library Catalogue for their holdings of GOAD maps.

Limerick City (1870) 5 feet to 1 mile maps published by Ordnance Survey. These maps are available to view in the UCD Digital Library OSi 19th Century Historical Maps collection. See section 13.1

Limerick City map (1900) reprint available from Richview Library.

This catalogue and maps were for the sale of the ground rents of the Earl of Limerick in 1907. They constitute an invaluable record of property and mapping of large parts of Limerick City from early in the 20th century.

O'Flaherty, Eamon (2010) Limerick: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

Towne of Kilmallock in the County of Limerick, per Joanes by George Carew, early 17th century

 

Longford

 

Gearty, S., Morris, M., O'Ferrall, F. (2010) Longford: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

 

 

 

Louth

These facsimile maps of Louth are available in Richview Library:

Joseph Ravell map of Drogheda (1749)

Read Christine Casey's article Joseph Ravell's "A Map of the Town and Suburbs of Drogheda 1749"

Ordnance Survey Map of Drogheda (1908)

Ordnance Survey Map of Dundalk (1907/08)

Dundalk Digital Atlas - In this project an interactive digital map based on a static two-dimensional map from 1835 of Dundalk has been linked to a purpose built online historical archive.

 O'Sullivan, Harold (2006) Dundalk: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

 O'Sullivan, H., Gillespie, R. (2011) Carlingford: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

 

Mayo

William Bald's Map of County Mayo  Surveyed 1809-1816 and published in 1830

Lynch-Blosse & Garret Moore Estates with maps from the 18th and 19th centuries

 

Meath


Simms, A. (1990) Kells: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

Hennessy, M. (2004) Trim: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy  

 

 

Map of the Counties of Ireland

Historical Maps by County O-W

Offaly

A range of historical maps are available online from the Offaly Historical & Archaeological Society

Griffith's Valuation maps are available on Irish Midlands Ancestry.

King’s County maps (1837 & 1881) available on Irish Midlands Ancestry.

The King’s County Baronies  map from the Atlas and cyclopedia of Ireland by P W Joyce, published 1905

and Lewis's 1837 King's County Map

Horner, A.A. (2006) Mapping Offaly in the Early Nineteenth Century published by Wordwell, Bray

Feehan, J. (2005) An Atlas of Birr  published by Department of Environmental Resource Management, Dublin

 

Roscommon

The Leitrim-Roscommon Genealogy website contains outline maps for the Townlands, Civil Parishes, Baronies, Poor Law Unions and Catholic Parishes in Roscommon

coloured map of Roscommon from the Atlas and cyclopedia of Ireland by P W Joyce, published 1905

 

Sligo

Ordnance Survey 6inch map of Sligo 1837 

Bartholomew Street Plan of Sligo 1909. The map is contained in the guidebook Ireland (Part 1) Northern Counties including Dublin and Neighbourhood by MJB Baddeley. (Click on the magnifying glass to see better image)

Sligo Town (1910) scale 1:4,300 [Phoenix reprint reduced from Ordnance Survey map] available in Richview Library

Courtesy of Sligo County Libraries access is made available to the 1659 Down Survey Maps and the 1837 Ordnance Survey Maps of county Sligo

Gallagher, F., Legg, M.L. (2012) Sligo: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy 

Horner, Arnold. (2011)  Mapping Sligo in the early nineteenth century : with an atlas of William Larkin's map of County Sligo, 1819. Dublin, Wordwell. 

 

Tipperary


O'Keeffe, Tadhg.(2003) Fethard: Irish Historic Town Atlas Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

 

Waterford


Waterford City map (1901/1905: Phoenix reprint). Reprint in Richview Library

 

Westmeath

Athlone map (1912: Phoenix reprint). Reprint in Richview Library


Murtagh, Harman.(1994) Athlone: Irish Historic Town Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

 

Andrews, J.H. and Davies, K.M. (1992) Mullingar: Irish Historic Towns Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

 

Wexford


Wexford Town (1903: Phoenix reprint). Reprint in Richview Library

 

Wicklow


Davies, K.M. (1998) Bray : Irish Historic Town Atlas. Dublin: Royal Irish Academy

Fraser's Map of the County of Wicklow, including the Environs of the City of Dublin, 1855.

© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License