Skip to main content

Map Collections at UCD and on the Web: Maps by Theme - Admin to Wind

Find, access and purchase maps at UCD Library. Lists of map resources and suppliers on the web. Examples of map symbols and scales. Copyright and booking forms.

Thematic Maps : Administrative to Flood

Administrative

Interactive Irish counties maps

Irish Counties maps © Copyright 1986 by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc.  From A New Genealogical Atlas of Ireland by Brian Mitchell.

Catholic Parish maps of Ireland

Townlands of Ireland  - view with EPA Maps. Zoom into the map until the Townlands layer is active. The Townlands Layer is listed in the Table of Contents under the heading General Administrative. Click within the area of the Townland to display its name.

See here for baronies, civil parishes and townlands displayed on maps created by OpenStreetMap.

Stanford's guide map [ca.I:I,650,000] to the constituencies of England and Wales, Ireland and Scotland, 1868. "Shewing all the counties, divisions of counties parliamentary boroughs & universities with the alterations & additions according to the "Representations of the People Acts, 1867-8" and the number of members for each constituency' 

Electoral Divisions - An interactive map which shows the population of all electoral divisions of Dublin for 2006 and 2011.

Plan of Dublin, published by Geographica Ltd of London, circa 1948, showing the ward boundaries

Plan of Dublin, published by Geographica Ltd of London, circa 1935, showing the Dublin city boundary

Dail Constitutency Boundaries_Ireland, published by Constituency Commission, 2007

Dail Constituency Boundaries_Dublin City, published by Constituency Commission, 2007

Dail Constituency Boundaries_Dublin City and County, published by Constituency Commission, 2007

Dail and European Parliament Constituencies, this 2012 report by the Constituency Commission includes constituency maps for the following: Cavan, Cork area, Donegal, Galway, Kerry, Kildare area, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick area, Mayo, Monaghan area, Offaly, Roscommon area, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford

Memorial Atlas of Ireland Published in 1901 by L.J. Richards & Company of Philadelphia, the Memorial Atlas of Ireland presents in clear detail the boundaries of each barony and civil parish in the country.

 

Admiralty Charts - see Marine Hydrographic Charts

 

 

Aerial Maps
OSI aerial photography - available to purchase from the OSi e-commerce service in Richview Library. These aerial maps can be viewed at no cost via the OSi map viewer.

Google Earth - 3D overviews of major cities, mountains, and other terrain, as well as local businesses and information, driving directions, and maps. In Ireland, the overviews of Dublin and Cork cities are particularly good.

Flash Earth - Zoomable map of the Earth using satellite and aerial imagery from Microsoft and Yahoo.

Bing Maps Offers imagery taken from satellite sensors, aerial cameras (including "Bird's Eye" aerial imagery taken at 45 degree angle view to show building façades and entrances) as well as 3D city models and terrain.

Dublin Traffic Online - Includes images from Dublin City Council Traffic Cameras

Dublin City Public Libraries - Contains historical aerial photos from the 1950s and 1960s (see the Photographs section for details)


The Geological Survey of Ireland (GSI) Customer Centre  has an important collection of aerial photographs of Ireland dating from 1973. Completed over the course of five years these photographs were part of the first complete aerial photographic survey of the Republic of Ireland. The survey was flown at a height of 15,000ft to give a nominal scale of 1:30,000 and the photos have a wide range of uses including archaeological research and research into land boundaries.


National Photographic Archive - holds the Morgan Aerial Photograph Collection - the aerial photographs in this collection date from the mid 1950s.

Leo Swan Aerial Photographic Archive - The archive project’s objective was to digitise Leo Swan’s aerial photographs dating circa 1970s / 1980s / 1990s and to provide access to the 6,500 images online.

Ireland Aerial Photography - This collection of Irish aerial images shows contemporary Ireland. All images displayed on this site are available for commercial and editorial licensing and have been digitally captured with current professional equipment.

 

This publication Air and earth : aerial archaeology in Ireland by the Heritage Council provides information and guides to air photographic collections in Ireland.

 

Agriculture

Agriculture in Ireland: A Census Atlas: by A.A. Horner et al. (1984).

 

Air Quality

View air quality monitoring sites and air zones in Ireland with Envision created by the EPA.

 

Archaeology

The Record of Monument and Places (RMP) is a statutory list of all known archaeological monuments provided for in the National Monuments Acts. There are over 120,000 Recorded Monuments included in the RMP. The RMP consists of a published county-by-county set of Ordnance Survey maps on which monuments are marked by a circle and an accompanying book which specifies the type of monuments. Print copy available for reference in Richview Library at 941.5012/MEA.


National Monuments Service - Contains the Monuments Database with details of the record holdings of the Archaeological Survey of Ireland,

 

Architecture / Buildings

Buildings of Ireland-  Website of the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage (NIAH). Ongoing surveys are presented by county, and consist of a map, database record and images of each building/structure surveyed.

The Dublin Docklands: Architectural Survey  (full title: Dublin Docklands Area master plan: inventory of the architectural and industrial archaeological heritage) - compiled by the School of Architecture, UCD between 1993 - 1995. Published in 1996.


Dublin City: Architectural Heritage Surveys (2003)

The Connacht and Munster Landed Estates Database  This is a comprehensive and integrated resource to landed estates and historic houses in Connacht and Munster, c. 1700-1914. The aim is to assist and support researchers working on the social, economic, political and cultural history of these provinces during this time.

Maps, Plans and Drawings collection of Military Barracks and Posts in Ireland (MPD Collection) available through the Military Archives website. It is a digitised collection of 19th and 20th century paper architectural maps, plans and drawings of military installations throughout the island of Ireland, it offers a unique opportunity to explore Ireland’s military architectural heritage.

 

Bedrock Maps

Bedrock Geological Map of Ireland. Scale 1:500,000. Published by Geological Survey of Ireland, 2006. Held in Richview Library. Available to purchase from GSI.

 

Biodiversity Maps


The National Biodiversity Data Mapping System From the home page you will need to click on the Biodiversity Maps link.
Use this to find out what is known about the different species that occur in Ireland, and where the protected and threatened species are.

 

Civic Surveys


Dublin of the future: The new town plan, being the scheme awarded first prize in the international competition by Patrick Abercrombie et al (1922). Also available in Richview Library to consult.

The new Dublin : a study in civics by C.R. Ashbee (1914)
Original typescript of Ashbee's highly recommended entry in the Dublin Town Planning Competition of 1914, which was won by Patrick Abercrombie.

The Dublin civic survey report. Prepared by Horace T. O'Rourke, & the Dublin Civic Survey Committee for the Civics Institute of Ireland. 

A civic survey and plan for the City & Royal Burgh of Edinburgh / prepared for the Town Council by Patrick Abercrombie and Derek Plumstead.  

 

Climate

Climate of Ireland - Climate statistics and maps for Ireland, including wind directions, rainfall, sunshine, temperature, 30 year averages.

 

Development Plans/ Local Area Plans


Richview Library has a comprehensive collection of Local Authority (County Council, Urban District Council, Local Area etc.) Development Plans. Such plans have accompanying maps, all of which may be referred to in the Library. The collection includes both current plans and superseded edtions dating back to the 1960s. These are all individually catalogued and are findable on the Library catalogue. Local Authorities are increasingly making their plans available on the web.

 


Diseases

John Snow's Cholera Map

In 1854 the physician Dr John Snow mapped cases of cholera to show where the outbreaks occured. This led him to identify a pump in Broad Street, London as being the source of contaminated water. Deaths were represented by individual bars on the map.

 

 

Environment View environmental maps  which show air quality, water quality, soils and land cover in Ireland with ENvision created by the EPA.

Green Maps - .A ‘Green Map’ is a locally produced chart of an area, which identifies, promotes and links environmental, social, and cultural amenities.
These maps typically show green areas, cycle paths, green businesses, organic markets, quiet spots in the city, interesting walking routes, as well as the cultural sites that make an area unique.

 

Flood Maps


National Flood Hazard Mapping 
Flood Hazard Maps are tools to assist with the management of development in floodplains and other areas at risk from tidal, fluvial or surface water flooding. They provide useful information to planning authorities and the public for the purpose of land-use zoning, development control, planning of infrastructure, identification of properties at risk, flood warnings etc. Site includes mapping, reports, photographs, media reports, videos.

Dartmouth Flood Observatory
Shows up-to-date information on flooding around the globe. Includes an archive of flood data. Their mission is to preserve for public access a
digital map record of the Earth’s changing surface water, including changes related to floods and droughts. They conduct remote sensing based
water measurement and mapping, when appropriate, in “near real time”.

 

 

Thematic Maps : Geology to Statistics

Geology Maps


Geological Survey of Ireland Includes maps containing data on Groundwater, Geotechnical, Seabed, GeoUrban and Minerals. Mapping of this nature is available digitally from the GSI for educational purposes.

U.S. Geological Survey
Geological Survey Maps Collection includes topographical maps which are free to download and the Historical Topographic Map Collection which has U.S. maps of all scales and editions, offered as a georeferenced digital download or as a scanned print from the USGS Store.

Irish Historical Geological Maps  Displays a range of historical geological maps, sections and memoirs of the island of Ireland, mostly from the 19th century. Includes a set of full colour 1:63,360 geological maps and a map index for locating the map you require.

 

 

Geothermal Maps

Geothermal Mapping of Ireland  From Sustainable Energy Ireland. The Geothermal Maps of Ireland will be particularly useful for researchers, consultants and decision-makers interested in assessing the geothermal potential at any location in Ireland.
 

 

Groundwater Maps

 

Groundwater Public Viewer  This has been created by the Geological Survey of Ireland and contains maps with groundwater, bedrock and aquifier data for the Republic of Ireland.

 


Health Maps


Global Health Atlas In a single electronic platform, the WHO's Communicable Disease Global Atlas brings together for analysis and comparison standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels. The analysis and interpretation of data a re further supported through information on demography, socioeconomic conditions, and environmental factors
 

 

Heritage Maps

Protected Sites  This provides a simple way of accessing spatial data managed by the National Parks & Wildlife Service , including information on Natural Heritage Areas (NHAs), Special Areas of Conservation (SACs), Special Protection Areas (SPAs), Nature Reserves and National Parks.

 

Land Use Maps

Corine Land Cover 2000 The aim is to update the CORINE land cover map for the year 2000 and to collect information on land cover changes in Europe during the decade 1990-2000.

Image 2000 From this site, you can access the archive of imagery from the Image2000 project. Image2000 is a related project to CORINE Land Cover 2000 and Image2000 products are intended to be the main source of data for updating the European Land Cover database (CORINE Land Cover). Primarily derived from Landsat 7 Enhanced Thematic Mapper ETM+ imagery, they are georeferenced and orthorectified, resulting in a consistent, high quality product.

 

Latitude and Longitude

Geonames helps you find the latitude and longitude of any location or placename in the world. Enter the required location into the search box, click search and the latitude and longitude details will be displayed.

 

 

Lighthouses

Map of Lighthouses in Ireland from about 1900

Commissioners of Irish Lights - interactive map showing lighthouse locations, including a photograph and history of the structure.

 

 

 

Marine Hydographic Charts

Glucksman Map Library Trinity College Dublin
Contains an extensive collection of sea charts published by the British Hydrographic Office which map the oceans, coasts and ports of the world in great detail (only current editions are available). All Irish hydrographic charts are produced by the British Hydrographic Office.

 

The Real Map of Ireland is from the Irish Marine Institute and it shows Ireland's current designated Irish Continental Shelf (November 2009), which is one of the largest seabed territories in Europe.

The Irish Marine Institute Map Viewer includes datasets for fisheries, oceanography, the marine environment and the Irish Wave Energy Resource Atlas.

 

INFOMAR / The Irish National Seabed Survey Covering some 125,000 km² of Irelands most productive and commercially valuable inshore waters, INFOMAR will produce integrated mapping products covering the physical, chemical and biological features of the seabed.


The Marine Irish Digital Atlas is a geographically referenced interactive map that allows users to view and explore a wide range of marine and coastal data layers.

 

Military Maps 

Maps, Plans and Drawings collection of Military Barracks and Posts in Ireland (MPD Collection) available through the Military Archives website. It is a digitised collection of 19th and 20th century paper architectural maps, plans and drawings of military installations throughout the island of Ireland, it offers a unique opportunity to explore Ireland’s military architectural heritage.

 

Monument Maps

The Record of Monument and Places (RMP) is a statutory list of all known archaeological monuments provided for in the National Monuments Acts. There are over 120,000 Recorded Monuments included in the RMP. The RMP consists of a published county-by-county set of Ordnance Survey maps on which monuments are marked by a circle and an accompanying book which specifies the type of monuments. A printed set of all counties is available for reference in Richview Library. Check Library Catalogue for the county of interest - this is the record for Kildare: Record of monuments and places : as established under Section 12 of the National Monuments (Amendment) Act 1994 / National Monuments and Historical Properties Service. County Kildare


National Monuments Service - Contains the Monuments Database with details of the record holdings of the Archaeological Survey of Ireland,

 

 

Planet Maps

Earth and Moon Viewer Real-time world map showing daylight and darkness. 

 

Pollution Maps

AirBase is managed on behalf of the European Environment Agency. It is an air quality database which contains validated monitoring data and air quality maps for more than 30 partcipating countries throughout Europe.

 

Population Maps

An interactive map which shows the population of all electoral divisions of Dublin for 2006 and 2011.

 

Radon Maps

Radon Map of Ireland from the Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland. These maps show the levels of radon for all areas of Ireland.

Radon Maps for Northern Ireland from the Northern Ireland Environment Agency. The maps are contained within the publication Radon in Dwellings in Northen Ireland: 2009 Review and Atlas. It presents the first radon probability map at a resolution of 1-km squares of the Irish Grid.

 

Railway Maps

 

 

Atlas to accompany 2nd report of the Railway Commissioners Ireland 1838. Available online from the UCD Digital Library.

Irish Railway Commission plans of the several lines laid out under the direction of the commissioners, 1837. Available online from Trinity College Dublin

Map exhibiting the navigable rivers, the completed & proposed canals & rail-roads of Great Britain & Ireland, with the coal fields, light houses &c. engraved by S. Hall. Published by Longman & Co. 184-?  Available online from the University of Chicago Library.

Railway Map of the British Isles 1872. Lists included of references to railways in England, Scotland, and Ireland. Available online from the David Rumsey Map Collection.

Ireland : to Illustrate the Railway System of the Country 1881.  Available online from the David Rumsey Map Collection.

Official Railway Map of Ireland. Published in London. Drawn & engraved 1897. Copies held in Richview Library and UCD Library Special Collections.

Railway Timeline Map. An Animated Timeline Map of Irish Railways. Available to view here. Created by Ronan Hennessy, Ryan Institute, NUIG, 2012.

 

Soil Maps

Soil maps of Ireland from Teagasc. Each county available to download as a PDF.

View the National Soils Database for  Ireland with the ENvision map viewer created by the EPA.

General Soil Map of Ireland. Scale 1:575,000, First Edition, 1969. Available in Richview Library.


ISRIC - World Soil Information - here you can access the World Soil Information MapViewer Service which provides visualizations of qualitative and quantitative soil properties from various data sources and data providers in a distributed way around the world.

 

Statistics

Downloadable statistics for Ireland from the CSO

 

Townlands

Based on data in OpenStreetMap, here is a list of counties in Ireland. 
Click on each county to see baronies, civil parishes and townlands in the respective county.

© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License