Skip to main content

Finding Information Starter Guide: Introduction

Very basic beginner overview of our information resources and how best to find books, journals and use our databases. Aimed at new students.

Our Collections

   

Our Collections

UCD Library holds a wide range of types of academic information in different formats (including: e-Journal articles, e-Books, Magazine articles, Newspaper articles, Reference material, Case studies, Reports, Conference papers, Manuscripts, Theses, Pamphlets, Standards, Images, Maps and DVDs). This guide will help you find books and journals in both print and electronic format from our collection.  You will find search tips that you can use when searching on UCD Library OneSearch and when searching individual databases.  

Most of our printed collection is available on shelves for you to visit, browse and select but there are some items held in various stores.

You should always have your staff/student U Card to access the buildings and for borrowing materials from the collection. Staff are available in all our libraries to you help you with questions you may have.

Our online library collection can be accessed from anywhere in the world provided you are a member of UCD and have an internet connection.

This is a vast resource, and contains academic information such as e-journals and online databases, for which we pay a subscription and which are not freely available on the Web. 

There are guides to help you.

There is help with getting full access to online resources when off campus.

Using the Library

The Range of Information

The Range of Information Formats

You may find it helpful to think about information for academic study in these three groupings:

Primary Information

Original material that has not been interpreted or analysed.

Examples: Statistics, Research articles, Blogs, Websites 

Secondary Material

Created from primary material, interpreting original material.

Examples: Textbooks, Review articles

Tertiary Material

Acts as a tool in understanding and locating information.

Examples: Databases, Subject Gateways, Dictionaries, Bibliographies

 

 

 

© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License