Skip to main content

Reference Collection: The Collection

The Library holds, in each of our libraries, a collection of authoritative and scholarly reference material,  in both print and electronic formats.  The print material cannot be borrowed.

Inroduction & Scope

Reference items, are helpful for finding:

  • Background information
  • Definitions and spelling
  • Facts and figures
  • Translations
  • Statistics
  • Topical overviews of subjects

Our Reference collections include:

  • Almanacs
  • Bibliographies
  • Biographies
  • Dictionaries
  • Directories
  • Encyclopaedias
  • Indexes
  • Yearbooks and annuals

Searching for Reference Works

Use OneSearch to find print and electronic reference works.

If you know the exact reference work that you are looking for, put the title in inverted commas, such as "Dictionary of Irish Biography".

In the left hand panel the Book/eBook and Full Text Online options will be helpful to narrow results down to book style items and, if you wish, works available online.

eReference Collection

Reference works are increasingly available online.

Our digital  reference titles can be accessed 24/7, both on and off campus. 

Printed Reference Collection - James Joyce Library

Level 2 Reference Collections
General Reference (GR)

The General Reference Collection is located opposite the Information Desk on Level 2 floorplan.

Examples include:

  • Dictionary of Irish Biography
  • Encyclopaedia Britannica
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Level 2 Subject Reference Collection 

A Subject reference Collection is also located opposite the Information Desk on Level 2 floorplan.

It covers the following subject areas:

  • Arts & Celtic Studies
  • Business
  • Languages, including foreign language dictionaries
  • Human Sciences
Law Reference Collection

A Law reference collection is located in the James Joyce Library,  Level 2  - beside the Law section.

Examples include:

  • Halsbury’s Laws of England
  • Irish Current Law – Monthly Digest
  • Legal dictionaries
  • Terrorism: Documents of International and Local Control, Vols. 1-103
Level 4 Reference Collection

A Subject reference Collection is located on Level 4 floorplan 

It covers the following subject areas:

  • Agriculture
  • Engineering
  • Science

Printed Reference Collection - Our Oher Libraries

Each of our libraries holds a reference collection in their respective subject areas.

Health Sciences Library Medicine, Nursing & Midwifery, Physiotherapy & Performance Science, Public Health & Population Science
Richview Library Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Planning and Urban Studies
Veterinary Medicine Library Veterinary Medicine and Veterinary Nursing
Blackrock Postgraduate Business Studies
© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License