Veterinary Nursing: EBVN
Essential books, journals and other key academic resources
EBVM Toolkit - Practice Resources - Books, Journal Articles & Web Resources
- EBVM Toolkit from RCVS KnowledgeThisToolkit is designed to help busy veterinary practitioners answer a clinical question with the best available evidence. The Toolkit provides a guide to steps 1-3 of the 5 key steps to follow in EBVM including how to apply the PICO Method.
- Journal Articles - EBVM for Small Animal Practice
May 2007 issue of the Veterinary Clinics of North America Small Animal Practice was devoted to all aspects of EBVM including refining the clinical question, searching, appraising, interpreting statistics, clinical reasoning and examples of their application to small animal practice.
- Journal Articles - EBVM application to equine practice
June 2003 issue of Equine Veterinary Journal with several articles discussing EBVM application for equine practice.
The Basics of Veterinary Literature & Search Tips
- PubMed Searching Veterinary MedicineCreated by the Veterinary Medical Libraries Section of the Medical Library Association, this guide provides helpful hints on how to search in PubMed for veterinary medicine literature.
Reading & Interpreting Research Articles
- eBook: How to read a paper [electronic resource} : the basics of evidence-based medicine byCall Number: Web, Electronic Book Available Online Electronic MaterialISBN: 9786612686504Publication Date: 2010
- How to read a paper : the basics of evidence-based medicine byCall Number: Health Sciences, General 610.72 GREISBN: 9781444334364Publication Date: 2010
Databases
- BestBETs for VetsA BET is a simple, unbiased review of current best evidence on a very specific clinical topic. They are designed to be a quick and achievable method of incorporating evidence into clinical practice.
Clinical Decisions
- ConsultantDiagnostic support system from Cornell College of Veterinary Medicine provides possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs and symptoms. Also provides a brief synopsis of the diagnosis/cause including 1) a general description, 2) species affected, 3) signs/symptoms and 4) a list of recent literature references.
Cochrane Library
- Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is available on campus only.
Research Methods Health & Medicine
Research methods : a framework for evidence-based clinical practice by
Research Methods: A Framework for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice is written specifically for students and practitioners in allied health care professions that treat patients with movement limitations, such as physical therapy and athletic training. Following the text's clear, easy-to-follow guidance, you'll quickly learn how to gather, read, interpret, assess, and apply research to clinical practice. Most importantly, you'll discover how an evidence-based approach will improve clinical outcomes in your own practice. http://thepoint.lww.com/product/isbn/9780781797689
Call Number: Health Sciences, General 610.72 HURISBN: 9780781797689Publication Date: 2010-10-25
Nursing Research by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It has been written by nurses for nurses and is research-minded, conceptually and theoretically up-to-date and student-centred. It is a comprehensive introduction to nursing research that will allow readers to build up their understanding of the research process and develop confidence in its practical application. Text supported by examples from 'real life' research International perspective on nursing research Comprehensive coverage including established and innovative designs and methods
Call Number: Health Sciences, General 610.73072 WATISBN: 9780443102776Publication Date: 2008-04-03
Qualitative Methods for Health Research by
The Third Edition of this bestselling title is packed full of real-world advice for researchers and students. It is an invaluable introduction to the theoretical and practical essentials needed to design, conduct and appraise qualitative research in health. The book highlights core research skills, taking the reader through the key debates in qualitative methodology. It sets out a logical, easy-to-follow path supported by practical examples ensuring you will find it engaging and relevant. Updates for the new edition include: - a new chapter on effectively combining methods - new material on the practical aspects of securing access to participants, using online data and on selecting an approach for analysis - improved material on reading and appraising literature with detailed exploration of systematic reviews and synthesis - expanded chapters on analysing data, with practical suggestions for moving from descriptive to analytical approaches - an effective mix of classic and contemporary case studies from across health research - expanded summaries, key points and reflective questions designed to help students apply theory to their own research. Clear, thorough and articulate, this is an authoritative introduction to qualitative research for all health professionals and students. Visit the accompanying companion website for additional resources. Judith Green is a Professor in Sociology of Health at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. Nicki Thorogood is a Senior Lecturer in Sociology at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. nbsp; nbsp;
Call Number: Health Sciences, General 610.72 GREISBN: 9781446253090Publication Date: 2013-12-20
Research Methods Social Sciences
Social research methods : qualitative and quantitative approachesCall Number: James Joyce, Short Loan Collection 300.72 NEUISBN: 9780205786831
Evidence-Based Veterinary Practice Organizations
- Centre for Evidence-based Veterinary MedicineLocated at the University of Nottingham School of Veterinary Medicine & Science.
- RCVS Knowledge - Evidence-Based Veterinary MedicineRCVS Knowledge is the independent charity associated with the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS). They hope to become a global intermediary for evidence based veterinary knowledge by providing access to information that is of immediate value to practising veterinary professionals.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License