Map Collections at UCD and on the Web: Historical Maps - Worldwide
Historic Map Collections
Ancient World Mapping Centre A web based, multilingual, spatially enabled community support system built using open source software and made freely available for reuse by other projects. Some free mapping sets for educational use are available.
David Rumsey Map Collection The historical map collection has over 44,000 maps and images online.
Old Maps Online The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date.
Historical Map Web Sites compiled by the Perry-Castaneda Library, Texas. Provides links to many historical map collections
Map History / History of Cartography Links to maps, websites, articles, libraries, archives, collections
Early Mapping Digital Projects A round-up of national and international digital projects concerning early mapping
Historical Atlas of the 20th Century World history in maps with links to other sources.
Historic Cities Contains maps, literature, documents, books and other relevant material concerning the past, present and future of historic cities.
Part of Braun and Hogenberg VI-3 map, 1617. From the Historic Cities website
Historical Map & Chart Collection The Office of Coast Survey's collection covers the land and waters of the United States of America, including territories and possessions - both past and present.
The James Ford Bell Library at the University of Minnesota. Containing more than 1000 digitised historical maps from around the world.
World Digital Library makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world including thousands of maps. It is a collaborative project of the U.S. Library of Congress, UNESCO, museums, libraries and archives throughout the world
Historical Maps of Europe contains maps from various historical atlases, directories and handbooks, which include a Plan of the Battle of Waterloo, an early 20th century Baedekers' map of Milan, and maps of Classical Greece.
An atlas of rare city maps : comparative urban design, 1830-1842 by Melville C. Branch, 1997
Historical plans of cities worldwide.
A vision of Britain Through Time Historical maps from 1801-1960. The collection has three types of maps - boundary, topographic and land use.
Ordnance Survey six-inch mapping England and Wales from the 1840s to the 1950s.
Ordnance Survey one-inch mapping England and Wales 1864-1898. Available online via National Library of Australia.
Ordnance Survey one-inch mapping England and Wales 1805-1873. Available online via National Library of Australia.
Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States Here you will find one of the greatest historical atlases: Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright's Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States, first published in 1932. This digital edition reproduces all of the atlas's nearly 700 maps. Its aim is to illustrate cartographically, in a manageable format, and yet with considerable detail, essential facts of geography and of history that condition and explain the development of the United States.
Library of Congress Geography and Map Reading Room The Library of Congress has a significant scanned map collection for both the United States and locations around the world.
The Venice Project This collection of 191 cartographic items from the Yale University Map Library mainly consists of maps and globes created by Venetian cartographers during the 16th and 17th centuries. Historical maps up to and including 20th century and some maps of Italy made by non-Venetians are also included.