Skip to main content

Bibliometrics: Sources for Tracking Citations

All about bibliometrics, and how you can make your research output more visible.

Key Databases for Citation Tracking

What is Scopus?

Scopus is a comprehensive database for scientific, technical, and medical information, covering more than 22,000 journals from over 5,000 publishers, approx 150,000 books and selected book series.

It can be accessed by UCD staff & students through the Library's subscription.

Caveats & Limitations:

  • Citation counts are not complete. Only citations to and from publications covered by Scopus (approx 22,000 journals, 150,000 books) are tracked.
  • Coverage is more comprehensive for some subjects (sciences, engineering, medicine) than for others (social sciences and humanities).
  • Secondary sources are not covered as part of the Scopus database. They are references cited by the articles that are covered by Scopus and are not included in most counts or analyses.

What is Web of Science?

Web of Science

The Web of Science database comprises the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded, and extracts the citation information from the articles in approx.10,000 journals.

Web of Science is only available through UCD Library's paid subscription:

Caveats & Limitations:

A citation search in Web of Science is not a complete citation search:

  • Only citations to and from approx 10,000 source journals are counted.
  • Subjects are not covered evenly by date; e.g. citation data for science journals generally goes back further than arts and social sciences.
  • Some subject areas are poorly covered, particularly across arts and humanities, and the social sciences.

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar

Google Scholar consists mainly of scholarly material including journal papers, conference papers, technical reports, theses, pre-prints, post-prints, abstracts and court opinions. Google Scholar also automatically includes scholarly works from Google Book Search.

Google Scholar's strength is the broad scope of content for both types of publications and disciplines. There is also generally better international and non-English language coverage.

Caveats & Limitations:

  • Limited search features & data quality is sometimes poor
  • Variation in how the item is cited can result in duplicate records for the same publication
  • Unknown which sources are indexed and over what time period

Additional Databases for Citation Tracking

Other publishers or subject databases offer citation tracking as well. Below is a list of such databases that are either free or available to UCD staff and students through the Library's subscription.

© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License