Skip to main content

Official Publications & the European Documentation Centre (EDC): Introduction

About the Official Publications Collection which includes Irish government publications and the European Documentation Centre (EDC).

Collection Scope and Access

  • Official Publications are documents and reports produced and published by official bodies, such as governments, national institutions and regional and international organisations.
     
  • The collection is held in the James Joyce Library.
     
  • To access an item from this collection, a retrieval service is in operation once a day. Please submit your request via the Library Catalogue ‘Request It’ option or hand a query docket in at the desk on Level 1. The Item will be available after 11.00 the next working day
     
  • These items cannot be removed from the Library.
     
  • Members of the public are entitled to visit the European Documentation Centre, and access the reports and documents in it - no UCD affiliation is required. Please enquire by mailing client.services@ucd.ie

Officlal Publications Collection Scope

This collection contains materials from the following government and international organisations:

  • Ireland
  • United Kingdom, including Northern Ireland
  • European Union (EU)
  • United States
  • International Labour Organization (ILO)
  • International Monetary Fund (IMF)
  • OECD
  • United Nations (UN)
  • UNESCO
  • World Bank

Irish Official Publications & How to Search for Them

The following are available:

  • Bills, Acts of the Oireachtas and Statutory Instruments
  • Bunreacht na hEireann (Constitution of Ireland)
  • Central Statistics Office (CSO)
  • Census of Ireland
  • Departmental publications
  • Griffith Valuation
  • NESC/NESF Reports
  • Palles Collection of Statutes, 1235-1922
  • Unreported Judgments

Some government documents, on agriculture, medicine and planning, are held in our other libraries.

All Official Publications are listed in OneSearch resource discovery service.

To narrow your results to Official Publications, in the left panel Library Location option, select Official Publications

You may also find it helpful to alter the sort order of your resulting list from relevant to Date (newest) to see the most recent items first

The European Documentation Centre (EDC)

The European Documentation Centre (EDC) contains official publications and documents of the institutions of the European Union. This Centre supports study, teaching and research at university level, and is open to members of the public. Please ask at the Admission Desk of James Joyce Library for an access card.

This collection includes information on:

  • European law, including publications from the European Court of Justice and Court of First Instance
  • European policies and institutions, including publications from the European Parliament
  • European integration and expansion.

Many of the documents and publications in this collection DO NOT appear in the catalogue. Please ask at the Information Desk on Level 2 of the James Joyce Library for help.

Much EU documentation is now available freely online, please ask for more information about this if you need help.

© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License