- Library
- LibGuides
- Student Guides
- Psychology
- Books & eBooks
Psychology: Books & eBooks
Information on books, journals, databases and other useful psychology resources.
Where in the Library?
Most print material related to psychology can be found in the 150s on level 4 of the James Joyce Library.
Useful material is also available in our Health Sciences Library.
Finding Books using OneSearch
Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:
Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections
Short Loan Collection
The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.
4-Hour Collection
The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.
Books for Psychology
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. You can also browse the collection to find books for your research. The relevant shelf marks include, but are not limited to:
- 150 Psychology
- 152 Sensory perception, movement, emotions, physiological drives
- 153 Conscious mental processes and intelligence
- 154 Subconscious and altered states and processes
- 155 Differential and developmental psychology
- 156 Comparative psychology
- 158 Applied psychology
A selection of useful book titles available via UCD Library include:
Introduction to Clinical Psychology by Call Number: 616.89 LEEPublication Date: 2021This text is designed to be helpful not only to those who will go on to careers in clinical psychology, but also to those who will choose other career paths.
Social Psychology by Call Number: 302 MYEPublication Date: 2020Including up-to-date, international research with an emphasis throughout on its critical evaluation. Applied examples across the chapters help to highlight the relevance, and hence the impact, that the theories and methods of this fascinating subject have upon the social world.
The Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology by Call Number: 155.82 VALPublication Date: 2012The goal of cultural psychology is to explain the ways in which human cultural constructions - for example, rituals, stereotypes, and meanings - organize and direct human acting, feeling, and thinking in different social contexts. A rapidly growing, international field of scholarship, culturalpsychology is ready for an interdisciplinary, primary resource. Linking psychology, anthropology, sociology, archaeology, and history, The Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology is the quintessential volume that unites the variable perspectives from these disciplines.
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful ebook titles and ebook databases available via UCD Library include:
Adverse and Protective Childhood Experiences by Publication Date: 2020Adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) can negatively influence development. However, the lifelong effects of positive childhood experiences (PACEs) can mitigate the detrimental effects of adverse ones. By integrating existing knowledge about (ACEs) with developmental research on preventing, buffering, and treating the effects of adversity, stress, and trauma on child development and subsequent health and functioning, this book identifies the most important of these (PACEs).
Assessing Capacities of Older Adults by Publication Date: 2020This book demonstrates how to address practical and ethical challenges when evaluating capacities of older adults with neurocognitive disorders, like dementia. The contributors are expert clinicians who draw upon real-life experiences conducting clinical capacity assessments in civil matters, illustrating best practices based on the guidelines from the ABA/APA's Assessment of Older Adults with Diminished Capacity: A Handbook for Psychologists.
The Cambridge Handbook of Personality Disorders by Publication Date: 2020This Handbook provides both breadth and depth regarding current approaches to the understanding, assessment, and treatment of personality disorders. The five parts of the book address etiology; models; individual disorders and clusters; assessment; and treatment. A comprehensive picture of personality pathology is supplied that acknowledges the contributions and missteps of the past, identifies the crucial questions of the present, and sets a course for the future. It also follows the changes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) has triggered in the field of personality disorders.
Choice, Preference, and Disability by Publication Date: 2020This book examines choice and preference in the lives of people with disability, focusing on people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. It provides an overview of choice and examines foundational concepts related to choice and preference, including self-determination and supported decision making.
How Learning Happens: Seminal Works in Educational Psychology and What They Mean in Practice by Publication Date: 2020How Learning Happens introduces 28 giants of educational research and their findings on how we learn and what we need to learn effectively, efficiently, and enjoyably. Exploring 28 key works on learning and teaching, chosen from the fields of educational psychology and cognitive psychology, the book offers a roadmap of the most important discoveries in how learning happens.
Assessment and Treatment of Older Adults by Publication Date: 2019Using the APA Guidelines for Psychological Practice With Older Adults and the Pikes Peak Model for Training in Professional Geropsychology, this book shows mental health providers how to expand their practice in order to treat older adults. Chapters describe tools and techniques for assessing and treating common conditions that practitioners encounter when working with older adults, including depression, anxiety, cognitive impairment, and prescription drug misuse.
The Cambridge Handbook of Cognition and Education by Publication Date: 2019This Handbook reviews a wealth of research in cognitive and educational psychology that investigates how to enhance learning and instruction to aid students struggling to learn and to advise teachers on how best to support student learning.
The Cambridge Handbook of Motivation and Learning by Publication Date: 2019Written by leading researchers in educational and social psychology, learning science, and neuroscience, this edited volume gives definitions of key terms related to motivation and learning alongside developed explanations of significant findings in the field.
Catatonia, Shutdown and Breakdown in Autism by Publication Date: 2019This book provides the first detailed clinical analysis of the various manifestations of catatonia, shutdown and breakdown in autistic individuals, with a new assessment framework (ACE-S) and guidance on intervention and management strategies using a psycho-ecological approach.
Handbook of Embodied Cognition and Sport Psychology by Publication Date: 2019The first systematic collaboration between cognitive scientists and sports psychologists considers the mind-body relationship from the perspective of athletic skill and sports practice. Athletic skill is a legitimate form of intelligence, involving cognitive faculties no less sophisticated and complex than those required by mathematical problem solving.
Personality Disorders: Elements, History, Examples, and Research by Publication Date: 2019Details each of the 10 personality disorders, in a format that makes locating information easy. * Provides a glossary for terms used in association with the disorders * Offers a "For Further Reading" section of recommendations for continued study of personality disorders * Presents additional resources that can provide further information, assistance, and professional connections * Features a detailed index for quick location of specific information
Rethinking Adult ADHD by Publication Date: 2019While negative thinking does not cause ADHD, research shows that cognitive strategies play a key role in maintaining ADHD symptoms. In Rethinking Adult ADHD: Helping Clients Turn Intentions Into Actions, Dr. J. Russell Ramsay provides a first-of-its-kind exploration of the common beliefs that underlie and reinforce ADHD in adults, and offers a blueprint to help clients overcome ADHD symptoms using cognitive behaviour therapy.
The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Psychology by Publication Date: 2019The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Psychology offers an overview of the field and the disparate and evolving approaches. Through an international team of contributors, the handbook brings prominent research literature together.
Defining Autism by Publication Date: 2018Offering a summary of the current state of knowledge in autism research, Defining Autism looks at the different genetic, neurological and environmental causes of, and contributory factors to autism.
The Art and Science of Mindfulness by Publication Date: 2017Authors Shapiro and Carlson draw from Eastern practices as well as Western psychological theory and science to explore why mindful awareness is integral to the therapeutic healing process and to show clinicians how to connect with this deeper awareness.
A Critical Introduction to Sport Psychology by Publication Date: 2017The new third edition of A Critical Introduction to Sport Psychology is the only textbook in the field that provides a detailed overview of key theories, concepts and findings within the discipline of sport psychology, as well as a critical perspective that examines and challenges these core foundations. Fully revised and updated, the new edition covers key research findings affecting both participation and performance in sport, including topics such as motivation, anxiety, emotional coping, concentration, mental imagery, expertise and team cohesion.
The Handbook of Intellectual Disability and Clinical Psychology Practice by Publication Date: 2016The Handbook of Intellectual Disability and Clinical Psychology Practice will equip clinical psychologists in training with the skills necessary to complete a clinical placement in the field of intellectual disability.
Hearing Voices by Publication Date: 2016This monumental work by one of Ireland's leading clinical psychiatrists encompasses every psychiatric development, from the Middle Ages to the present day, including an examination of the far-reaching social and political effects. Kelly's definitive work examines Ireland's unique relationship with conceptions of mental health throughout the centuries, delving into each medical breakthrough and every terrible abuse of authority-both political and domestic-for those deemed to be "hearing voices".
Cognitive Psychology by Publication Date: 2015This book has been designed to help students develop a thorough understanding of the fundamentals of cognitive psychology, providing them with detailed knowledge of the very latest advances in the field.
The Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology by Publication Date: 2015The third edition of the Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology incorporates important advances in the field to provide a reliable and accessible resource for clinical psychologists. Beginning with a set of general conceptual frameworks for practice, the book gives specific guidance on the management of problems commonly encountered in clinical work with children and adolescents drawing on the best practice in the fields of clinical psychology and family therapy.
Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders, Fifth Edition by Publication Date: 2014This clinical reference and widely adopted text is recognized as the premier guide to understanding and treating frequently encountered psychological disorders in adults. Showcasing evidence-based psychotherapy models, the volume addresses the most pressing question asked by students and practitioners--"How do I do it?"
Introduction to the Psychology of Ageing for Non-Specialists by Publication Date: 2014This complete primer on the psychology of ageing explains the key issues clearly and concisely. Beginning with explanations of ageing, life expectancy and demographics, it goes on to discuss the aspects of ageing that have the most impact on people's lives. From changes in intelligence and personality to mental health and sexuality, the author explains the psychology involved and focuses on the points that have most impact on people's lives. .
Social Psychology by Publication Date: 2013From prejudice and aggression to group co-operation and close intimate relationships, this textbook covers the field of social psychology from general principles to cutting-edge research.
Basic Vision by Publication Date: 2012Basic Vision: An Introduction to Visual Perception demystifies the processes through which we see the world. Written by three authors with over 80 years of research and undergraduate teaching experience between them, it leads the reader step-by-step through the intricacies of visual processing.
Clinical Psychology by Publication Date: 2012This text will inform students about: the profession of clinical psychology: how to get onto a clinical psychology postgraduate training programme; the way clinical psychologists work with children, adolescents and adults with common psychological problems; the main models of practice used by clinical psychologists, and the scientific evidence for the effectiveness of psychological interventions.
Thinking and Reasoning by Publication Date: 2012The area of psychological research reviewed in this book is one that is not only increasing in popularity in college curricula, but is also making an ever larger impact on the world outside the classroom. This completely rewritten textbook reflects on the revolutionary changes that have occurred in the field in recent years. The main areas covered are probability judgment, deductive and inductive reasoning, decision making, hypothetical thinking and rationality.
- ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive electronic library consists of scholarly and peer reviewed books in the humanities.
- Academic Complete
A multidisciplinary collection of over 180,000 scholarly titles from hundreds of leading academic publishers. eBooks are made available on ProQuest's eBook Central platform. Offers unlimited, multi-user access. To view content for specific disciplines, simply select from the "Browse Subject" option page
Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information
Useful online reference material for Psychology include:
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by Publication Date: 2015This second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001,discusses history, current trends and future directions. Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
Oxford Dictionary of Psychology by Publication Date: 2009With over 11,000 authoritative and up-to-date entries, this best-selling dictionary covers all branches of psychology including psychoanalysis and psychiatry. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods.
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences by Publication Date: 2007The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries.
Encyclopedia of Disability by Publication Date: 2005This encyclopedia represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. Originally published in print format in 2005, it is a multi-disciplinary, cross-cultural, and historically grounded resource tool that guides the reader across fields, theories, debates, and practices.
- PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of over 4,500 current and classic peer-reviewed titles in psychology and the behavioural sciences. Updated monthly, the collection includes the latest publications from the American Psychological Association. Also includes the APA/University of Oxford Encyclopedia of Psychology as well as the authoritative APA Handbooks in Psychology reference series. - Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Covering the social and behavioural sciences, SAGE Knowledge provides access to thousands of scholarly eBooks published by SAGE. The collection also includes hundreds of award-winning reference titles including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks which provide students with the perfect place to start their research.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are learning, teaching and research materials in any format and medium that reside in the public domain or are under copyright that have been released under an open license, that permit no-cost access, re-use, re-purpose, adaptation and redistribution by others. (source: UNESCO)
- Directory of Open Access BooksDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
- OER CommonsOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
- Pressbooks DirectoryPressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,387 open access books published by 157 organizations and networks using Pressbooks. It's easy to copy, revise, remix, and redistribute any openly licensed content found here using Pressbooks' publishing platform. Nearly all books are highly accessible, and many include interactive H5P learning activities to engage learners.
- NobaNoba is a free online platform that provides high-quality, flexibly structured textbooks and educational materials. These textbooks and materials are licensed under the Creative Commons CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 International License.
Connect With Us!
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License