- Library
- LibGuides
- Student Guides
- Sociology
- Books & eBooks
Sociology: Books & eBooks
Information about books, journals, databases and other useful sociology resources.
Where in the Library?
Finding Books using OneSearch
Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:
Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections
Short Loan Collection
The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.
4-Hour Collection
The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.
Books for Sociology
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. You can also browse the collection to find books for your research. The relevant shelf marks include, but are not limited to:
- 301 Sociology and anthropology
- 302 Social interaction
- 303 Social processes
- 304 Factors affecting social behavior
Useful book titles available via UCD Library include:
A Gentle Introduction to Stata by Call Number: 300.15195 ACO James Joyce, Short Loan CollectionPublication Date: 2018After reading this introductory text, new users will be able not only to use Stata well but also to learn new aspects of Stata.
Cultural Evolution by Call Number: 303.4 ING James Joyce, General/Short Loan CollectionPublication Date: 2018Cultural Evolution argues that people's values and behavior are shaped by the degree to which survival is secure; it was precarious for most of history, which encouraged heavy emphasis on group solidarity, rejection of outsiders, and obedience to strong leaders. The unprecedented prosperity and security of the postwar era brought cultural change, the environmentalist movement, and the spread of democracy. But in recent decades, diminishing job security and rising inequality have led to an authoritarian reaction.
A Contemporary Introduction to Sociology by Call Number: 301 ALE James Joyce, GeneralPublication Date: 2017This book shows how culture is central to understanding many world problems as it challenges readers to confront the problems and possibilities of an era in which the futures of the physical and social environments seem uncertain.
Curating Difficult Knowledge by Call Number: 303.6 LEH James Joyce, General/Short Loan CollectionPublication Date: 2011This volume brings museum and heritage studies to bear on questions of transitional justice, memory and post-conflict reconciliation. As practitioners, artists, curators, activists and academics, the contributors explore the challenges of bearing witness to past conflicts.
Decolonizing European Sociology by Call Number: 301.094 GUT James Joyce, GeneralPublication Date: 2010Decolonizing European Sociology builds on the work challenging the androcentric, colonial and ethnocentric perspectives eminent in mainstream European sociology by identifying and describing the processes at work in its current critical transformation.
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful ebook titles and ebook databases available via UCD Library include:
State Power and Asylum Seekers in Ireland by Publication Date: 2018This book aims to account for the reception, treatment and sometimes, eventual deportation, of asylum seekers in Ireland, by analysing how they are framed and dealt with by the Irish state. Both historically and theoretically grounded, it will discuss contemporary immigration policies and issues in light of the overall social, historical, and economic development of Irish society and state immigration policy.
Tocqueville and Beaumont by Publication Date: 2018This is the first concise study to give full credit to the collaboration of works between French nobleman, writer and politician Alexis de Tocqueville (1805-59) and his travel companion and friend Gustave de Beaumont (1802-66), and puts this collaboration into its social, historical and theoretical context.
Essential Concepts in Sociology by Publication Date: 2017This clear and jargon-free book introduces a careful selection of essential concepts that have helped to shape sociology and others that continue to do so. Going beyond brief, dictionary-style definitions, Anthony Giddens and Philip W. Sutton provide an extended discussion of each concept which sets it in historical and theoretical context, explores its main meanings in use, introduces relevant criticisms, and points readers to its ongoing development in contemporary research and theorizing.
The Sociology of Early Childhood by Publication Date: 2017The Sociology of Early Childhood is a theoretically and historically grounded examination of young children's experiences in contemporary society. Arguing that a sociology of early childhood must bring together and integrate different disciplines, this book synthesizes different sociological perspectives on childhood as well as incorporating multi-disciplinary research findings on the lives of young children
Contemporary Ireland by ISBN: 1904558879Publication Date: 2016A very readable, in-depth description and analysis of the transformations that have taken place in Ireland over the past ten years during the heyday of the Celtic Tiger.
Nakedness, Shame, and Embarrassment by Publication Date: 2016This volume is a sociological investigation - both historical and contemporary - into the problems surrounding naked bodies. The author studies the often very complex and paradoxical emotions that have been associated with nakedness in the Western world for centuries.
The Routledge Handbook of Irish Criminology by Publication Date: 2015The Routledge Handbook of Irish Criminology is the first edited collection of its kind to bring together the work of leading Irish criminologists in a single volume. While Irish criminology can be characterised as a nascent but dynamic discipline, it has much to offer the Irish and international reader due to the unique historical, cultural, political, social and economic arrangements that exist on the island of Ireland.
Marx and the Alternative to Capitalism by Publication Date: 2011This is an accessible and comprehensive look at the ideas of Karl Marx. Dispensing with the dryness of traditional explanations of Marx, Allen shows how Marx's ideas apply to modern society.
The Sociology of War and Violence by Publication Date: 2010War is a highly complex and dynamic form of social conflict. This book demonstrates the importance of using sociological tools to understand the changing character of war and organised violence. This book brings the study of organised violence to the fore by providing a wide-ranging sociological analysis that links classical and contemporary theories with specific historical and geographical contexts.
Generative Social Science by Publication Date: 2007Agent-based computational modeling is changing the face of social science. In Generative Social Science, Joshua Epstein argues that this powerful, novel technique permits the social sciences to meet a fundamentally new standard of explanation, in which one "grows" the phenomenon of interest in an artificial society of interacting agents: heterogeneous, boundedly rational actors, represented as mathematical or software objects.
- ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive electronic library consists of scholarly and peer reviewed books in the humanities.
- Academic Complete
A multidisciplinary collection of over 180,000 scholarly titles from hundreds of leading academic publishers. eBooks are made available on ProQuest's eBook Central platform. Offers unlimited, multi-user access. To view content for specific disciplines, simply select from the "Browse Subject" option page
Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information
Useful online reference material for Sociology include:
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by Publication Date: 2015Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
The Encyclopedia of European Migration and Minorities by Publication Date: 2013Although migration and integration have become important concepts today as a result of globalization, migration movements, integration, and multiculturalism have always been part of the history of Europe. Newly available to an English-speaking audience, this encyclopaedia presents a systematic overview of the existing scholarship regarding migration within and into Europe.
A Dictionary of Sociology by Publication Date: 2009Compiled by a team of sociological experts, under the editorship of Gordon Marshall and John Scott, it is packed with over 2,500 entries. With terms taken from sociology and the relatedfields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science, it provides widespread coverage of all aspects of the discipline. It also contains biographies covering key figures, such as Gilles Deleuze and Erich Fromm.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new windowUCD has access to content published in 2007 only.
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism (Gale) This link opens in a new windowExamines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Covering the social and behavioural sciences, SAGE Knowledge provides access to thousands of scholarly eBooks published by SAGE. The collection also includes hundreds of award-winning reference titles including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks which provide students with the perfect place to start their research.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are learning, teaching and research materials in any format and medium that reside in the public domain or are under copyright that have been released under an open license, that permit no-cost access, re-use, re-purpose, adaptation and redistribution by others. (source: UNESCO)
- Introduction to Sociology 2eAn Open Educational Resource hosted by Open Stax. Introduction to Sociology 2e adheres to the scope and sequence of a typical, one-semester introductory sociology course. It offers comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories. The textbook presents section reviews with rich questions, discussions that help students apply their knowledge, and features that draw learners into the discipline in meaningful ways. The second edition has been updated significantly to reflect the latest research and current, relevant examples.
- Directory of Open Access BooksDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
- OER CommonsOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
- Pressbooks DirectoryPressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,387 open access books published by 157 organizations and networks using Pressbooks. It's easy to copy, revise, remix, and redistribute any openly licensed content found here using Pressbooks' publishing platform. Nearly all books are highly accessible, and many include interactive H5P learning activities to engage learners.
Reviewing the Sociology Literature
Writing the Literature Review by Publication Date: 2018This accessible text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review--an integral part of a successful thesis, dissertation, term paper, or grant proposal. Each step of searching for, evaluating, analyzing, and synthesizing prior studies is clearly explained and accompanied by user-friendly suggestions, organizational tips, vignettes, and examples of student work.
Connect With Us!
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License