Occupational Safety Health and Environment: Government and EU Information

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful Occupational Safety Health and Environment resources

What are Official Publications?

UCD Library provides access to a range of official publications. These are documents and reports produced and published by official bodies, such as governments, national institutions and regional and international organisations

Offical Publications and the European Documentation Centre (EDC)

This Collection is held on Level 4 of the James Joyce Library. A retrieval service operates during service hours. Call to the Information Desk on Level 2 to submit a request.

The collection contains material from the Irish, British and US governments; European Union (EU); International Labour Organization (ILO); International Monetary Fund (IMF); OECD, United Nations (UN);UNESCO and World Bank

See here for further information.

Useful Resources

HSA - Health and Safety Authority (Ireland)
Department of Health (Ireland)
Formulates and evaluates policies for health services and has a role in the strategic planning of health services.
HSE - Health Services Executive
The HSE provides all of Ireland's public health services, in hospitals and communities across the country.
Public Health Europe
This is the website of the European Commission's Directorate for public health and risk assessment.
WHO - World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system.
Eurostat
The Statistical Office of the European Union. Provides high-quality statistical information on the EU Member States Includes information on Eurostat printed and electronic publications Data is charged for but some key indicator snapshots are free to view.
Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government
Institute of Public Health in Ireland (IPH)
The Institute of Public Health in Ireland (IPH) promotes cooperation for public health between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. Links to IPH Health Well and Information hubs (including Obesity, Chronic Disease, Health Impact Assessment)