Skip to Main Content

Skills for Academic Success: Study skills resources

This guide will assist you in developing your academic reading, writing and revision skills, as well as finding books and other resources for additional information.

Recommended reading

Study skills resources in the library

Ucd Library has many useful titles to help you through out your acamedic journey and beyond.

This section provides lists of relevant links in the form of subject headings1, to academic skills titles available through UCD Libraries. There are books to help you get started with academic skills such as planning your essay, essay writing, critical thinking and study skills. There are also links to resources on exam skills, research skills and career skills. Many of the books linked from this guide are located in the James Joyce Library Study Skills Collection. This collection is located on Level 1 adjacent to the Service Desk. 

See also our Academic Integrity Guide for guidance on proper referencing and citation an links to style specific information.

1. Subject headings are useful labels applied to titles to indicate what they are about, and to group items with the same label together.

Links to useful titles

Relevant Subject Headings 

Very broad: Research

A select list of more specific Subject Headings:
Academic Writing Qualitative research
Action research -- Methodology Qualitative research -- Methodology.
Action research in education Research -- Methodology
Ethnology -- Research -- Methodology. Research -- Methodology -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Information resources -- Evaluation. Research -- Methodology -- Study and teaching (Higher) -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Interdisciplinary approach to knowledge -- Encyclopedias.       Research -- Social aspects.
Interdisciplinary research -- Encyclopedias. Research Design.
Meta-analysis. Systematic Reviews
Postcolonialism -- Research -- Methodology.  
Relevant Subject Headings

Very broad: Critical Thinking

A select list of more specific Subject Headings:
Critical thinking -- Handbooks, manuals, etc. Reasoning -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Critical thinking -- Study and teaching -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.       Reflective learning -- Handbooks, manuals etc.   
Critical thinking -- Study and teaching. Thinking
Knowledge, Theory of. Thought and thinking.
   
   
   
   
   
Relevant Subject Headings

Very broad: Academic Writing

A select list of more specific Subject Headings:
Academic writing -- Periodicals. Essay -- Authorship
Authorship Essay -- Auhtorship -- Study and Teaching
Dissertations, Academic -- Authorship Essay -- Technique
English language -- Grammar Essays
English language -- Grammar -- Handbooks, manuals, etc. Interdisciplinary approach in education -- Periodicals.
English language -- Rhetoric Interdisciplinary approach in education.
English language -- Rhetoric -- Handbooks, manuals, etc. Report Writing
English language -- Rhetoric -- Study and teaching -- Periodicals.       Report writing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
English language -- Rhetoric -- Study and teaching. Writing
English language -- Writing -- Study and teaching  
Relevant Subject Headings

Very broad: Career skills

A select list of more specific Subject Headings:
Applications for positions Occupational aptitude tests -- Problems, exercises, etc.   
Career changes. Occupational aptitude tests.
Career development. Professional employees.
Employee selection. Public speaking.
Employment interviewing. Résumés (Employment)
Employment tests -- Problems, exercises, etc.       School-to-work transition
Interpersonal communication. Vocational guidance.
Job hunting. Vocational interests -- Testing.
Job satisfaction.