Languages, Cultures & Linguistics: Books & eBooks

Information about relevant books, journals, databases and other useful materials for Languages, Cultures & Linguistics.

Where in the Library?

Most print materials related to languages are held on level 2 and level 4 of the James Joyce Library.

Language and literature texts can be found in the 840's on level 2

Linguistics material and dictionaries can be found in the 300's and 400's, on level 4

Finding Information Tutorial

This 15 minute tutorial will help you find relevant information for your assignments and understand the limitations of using GenAI tools for information searches.

Books

Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful titles available via UCD Library include:

Academic Complete (Proquest Ebook Central)
An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online titles covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free books which are out of copyright including many classic works in Philosophy and related disciplines. Choose epub, kindle or html formats.

Collins German Dictionary
Call Number: 433.2COL

ISBN: 9780007221479

Publication Date: 2005

German-English Dictionary
Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by Oxford Dictionary (Editor)
Call Number: 443.2OXF

ISBN: 9780199560912

Publication Date: 2009-06-04

Completely updated to include all the latest vocabulary, this fourth edition of the Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary contains coverage of over 175,000 words and phrases, and 270,000 translations.
Le Petit Robert de la Langue Francaise by Paul Robert; Josette Rey-Debove (Text by); Alain Rey (Text by)
Call Number: 443ROB

ISBN: 9782849020661

Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Reference for Languages, Literatures & Linguistics

Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information.

Useful online reference material for Languages, Literatures & Linguistics include:

The ARTFL Project
French English/English French Dictionary
Books Made in Italy
Bibliographic database of Italian titles currently in print.
Bibliothèque Nationale de France
Includes books and serials published, printed and distributed in France.
Deutsche Nationalbibliografie
Bibliographic details of material published, printed and distributed in Germany. Covers German-languages titles published abroad and foreign-language publications about Germany.

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (Elsevier)
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics aspires to be the most authoritative, comprehensive and international reference source in its field. It contains over 3000 articles on all aspects of language and linguistics and includes 200 language maps, with information on number of speakers and language family. There are approximately 700 biographical entries, including those of contemporary linguists.

Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des metiers
Provides full-text searchable access to Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie, with 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates between 1751 and 1772. Containing 72,000 articles written by more than 140 contributors.
Frantext
Nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.