Mathematics and Statistics: Books and eBooks

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful Mathematical Sciences resources

Finding Books using OneSearch

Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:

Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections

Short Loan Collection

The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.

4-Hour Collection

The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.

Books

Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful titles available via UCD Library include:

Springer eBook collection: mathematics and statistics This link opens in a new window
Access to approximately 1500 of Springer's ebook titles in the field of mathematics and statistics. Includes English language titles with copyright years between 2005 - 2010.
Ebook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities. UCD Library purchases select ebooks to support teaching, learning and research.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998. Formerly SourceOECD, the platform comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all OECD monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.

Reference Books

Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information.

Useful online reference material for this subject include:

Oxford Reference Online (OUP) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Wolfram MathWorld
The web's most extensive mathematical resource.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics
The Encyclopedia of Mathematics wiki is an open access resource designed specifically for the mathematics community.

Where in the Library?

Most print material related to Mathematical Sciences is held on level 4 of the James Joyce Library.

Books in related subjects can also be found on Level 2 of the James Joyce Library.