Nursing, Midwifery and Health Systems: Books and eBooks

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful Nursing, Midwifery and Health Systems resources

Finding Books using OneSearch

Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:

Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections

Short Loan Collection

The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.

4-Hour Collection

The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.

Books

Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful titles available via UCD Library include:

Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Collection of medical, nursing, and pharmacy texts from a variety of publishers. UCD Library has purchased individual titles to support teaching, learning and research.
PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of over 4,500 current and classic peer-reviewed titles in psychology and the behavioural sciences. Updated monthly, the collection includes the latest publications from the American Psychological Association. Also includes the APA/University of Oxford Encyclopedia of Psychology as well as the authoritative APA Handbooks in Psychology reference series.
Ebook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities. UCD Library purchases select ebooks to support teaching, learning and research.

Reference Books

Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information.

Useful online reference material for this subject include:

Oxford Reference Online (OUP) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Encyclopedia of Disability (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. Originally published in print format in 2005, it provides a fascinating entry into the world of disability where minds are expanded, prejudices shattered, and spirits raised. The result is a multi-disciplinary, cross-cultural, and historically grounded resource tool that guides the reader across fields, theories, debates, and practices.

Where in the Library?

Most print material related to Nursing, Midwifery and Health Systems is held in the Health Sciences Library.