Biology & Environmental Science: Books and eBooks

Information on books, journals, databases and other useful Biology and Environmental Science resources

Finding Books using OneSearch

Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:

Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections

Short Loan Collection

The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.

4-Hour Collection

The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.

Books

Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful titles available via UCD Library include:

Ebook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities. UCD Library purchases select ebooks to support teaching, learning and research.

Reference Books

Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information.

Useful online reference material for this subject include:

Encyclopedia of Biostatistics (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Biostatistics, 2nd Edition is the definitive reference to support the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.
Encyclopedia of Industrial Biotechnology: Bioprocess, Bioseparation, and Cell Technology (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
A key, up-to-date resource for the global biotechnology industry. It is based on the Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology (Flickinger and Drew, 1999) and the Encyclopedia of Cell Technology (Spier, 2000). The content was fully revised, updated, and expanded to present all vital aspects - theoretical and practical - of industrial biological processes, techniques, equipment, products, as well as ethical and regulatory issues.
Encyclopedia of Parasitology (Springer) This link opens in a new window
Edited by Heinz Mehlhorn, this is the third edition of this major reference work, with more than 40 international contributors, who are well known specialists in their fields, giving a comprehensive review of all parasites and therapeutic strategies in veterinarian and human parasitology.
Oxford Reference Online (OUP) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Where in the Library?

Most print material related to Biology and Environmental Science is held on level 4 of the James Joyce Library.