- Student Guides
- Biology & Environmental Science
- Journal Articles and Databases
Biology & Environmental Science: Journal Articles and Databases
Full Lists of Databases and eJournals
Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:
Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals
What Is Peer Review?
Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.
Finding Articles on Reading Lists
Try this first
You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.
Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.
If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.
If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"
For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf
For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.
Try one of these key databases for your subject:
- Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a website that provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines.
- ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes online eBooks, reference works, handbooks, book series, journal titles and backfiles.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
- CAB Direct (CABI) This link opens in a new windowExtensive reference resource for the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. UCD subscribes to CAB Abstracts, Global Health and VetMed Resource.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowScopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature. The platform also provides access to SciVal (access to SciVal requires registration, and is limited to on-campus only).
- Biological Science Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the biological science literature and over two dozen related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
- BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowAn expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- Zoological Record (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowZoological Record Plus (ZR Plus), produced by BIOSIS, provides extensive coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database provides an easily searched collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other non serial literature from over 100 countries.
- Books and eBooks
- Journal Articles and Databases
- Key Websites
- Government and EU Information
- Datasets and Statistics
- Citing Information and Avoiding Plagiarism
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License
- Last Updated: Mar 10, 2023 9:54 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/biology
- Print Page