Classics: Books & eBooks

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful Classics resources.

Special Collections

Special Collections contains unique book, archival and manuscript collections. UCD students and staff, and external users can consult the collections in the Special Collections reading room. Special Collections is located on Level 1 of the James Joyce Library.

Finding Information Tutorial

This 15 minute tutorial will help you find relevant information for your assignments and understand the limitations of using GenAI tools for information searches.

Books for Classics

Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful titles available via UCD Library include:

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina Online
The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts.
Loeb Classical Library (Harvard University Press)
A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Users can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
Bloomsbury Collections
Bloomsbury Collections is a respected academic publisher of eBooks from across the humanities and social sciences. They include a Classical Studies sub-collection, with interesting new scholarship on topics related to Classical Greece and Rome.
Academic Complete (Proquest Ebook Central)
An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online titles covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.
ACLS Humanities E-Books
This comprehensive electronic library consists of scholarly and peer reviewed books in the humanities.

Reference Books for Classics

Reference items are helpful for finding background information such as definitions and spelling, facts and figures, translations, statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information.

Useful online reference material for Classics include:

The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor)
Call Number: 880.3 OXF

ISBN: 9780198606413

Publication Date: 2003-05-01

For almost half a century The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. As an authoritative reference to all there is to know about the ancients, the third edition of the Dictionary, published in 1996, has firmly maintained that position, taking into account the huge expansion in the scholarship and scope of classical studies.

Oxford Reference Online (OUP)
Oxford Reference Online includes a section on Classical Studies, with several dictionaries and encyclopedias about the classical world.