Classics: Journal Articles & Databases

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful Classics resources.

Finding Articles on Reading Lists

Try this first

You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.

Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.

If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.

Next steps:

If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"

For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf

For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.

Search for a Journal Title

Not seeing a searchbox? Click here

What Is Peer Review?

Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.

Key Databases for Classics

Databases allow you to search across a range of different journals, books and other publications for information on a specific topic. Databases contain peer-reviewed, scholarly material. Links to the full-text will be provided, where available, by UCD Library.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities. It includes academic journals, magazines, trade journals and indexing and abstracts of publications including ebooks, reports and conference proceedings.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Artstor is JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of rights-cleared images from around the world, discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources on one feature-rich platform. It provides high-quality digitised images from numerous museums, academic institutions, and private foundations.

Digital Loeb Classical Library
A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. Users can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.

International Medieval Bibliography (Brepols) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range 450 to 1500, and includes articles (from both journals and miscellanies, e.g. Festschriften), review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature. The geographical range comprises the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Content spans many disciplines. Numerous journal titles in classical studies included.
Patrologia Latina Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865.

Perseus Digital Library
Gateway to Greco-Roman history, literature and culture on the web

Philosopher's Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.
Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides full text access to over 300 scholarly journals, published by more than 60 publishers, in the humanities, arts and social sciences. This includes materials on Classical Studies.

Classics: Journal Articles & Databases

Finding Articles on Reading Lists

Search for a Journal Title

What Is Peer Review?

Key Databases for Classics

JSTOR: Subject Searching for Articles

Full Lists of Databases and eJournals