Skip to Main Content

Collections Curation Project, UCD Library: Further Reading

The Collections Curation Project is a strategy for improvement of print book collections through comprehensive collection management techniques, consistent with international best practice in university research libraries.

Journal Articles

  • Ackerman, E., & DeLuca, L. (2018). Weed ’em and reap? Deselection of political science books. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 44(1), 88–95. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2017.10.003
  • Agee, J. (2005). Collection evaluation: a foundation for collection development. Collection Building, 24(3), 92–95. http://dx.doi.org/10.1108/01604950510608267
  • Borin, J., & Yi, H. (2008). Indicators for collection evaluation: a new dimensional framework. Collection Building, 27(4), 136–143. https://doi.org/10.1108/01604950810913698
  • Chipp, J. (2018). Developing a collections review framework at the University of Southampton. SCONUL Focus, 70. Retrieved from https://www.sconul.ac.uk/sites/default/files/documents/28.Developing%20a%20collections%20review.pdf
  • DeMars, M., & Roll, A. (2016). Weeding out in the open: what will the neighbours think? In Where Do We Go from Here?: Charleston Conference Proceedings 2015. Purdue University Press. https://doi.org/10.5703/1288284316252
  • Dubicki, E. (2008). Weeding: facing the fears. Collection Building, 27(4), 132–135. https://doi.org/10.1108/01604950810913689
  • Enger, K. B. (2009). Using citation analysis to develop core book collections in academic libraries. Library & Information Science Research, 31(2), 107–112.
  • Handis, M. W. (2007). Practical advice for weeding in a small library. Collection Building, 26(3), 84–87. https://doi.org/10.1108/01604950710761643
  • Held, T. (2018). Curating, not weeding. Technical Services Quarterly, 35(2), 133–143.
  • Joswick, K. E., & Stierman, J. P. (1994). Systematic reference weeding: A workable model. Collection Management, 18(1), 103–115.
  • Lesniaski, D. (2004). Evaluating collections. College & Undergraduate Libraries, 11(1), 11–24.
  • Lugg, R. (2012). Data-driven deselection for monographs: a rules-based approach to weeding, storage, and shared print decisions. Insights, 25(2), 198–204. https://doi.org/10.1629/2048-7754.25.2.198
  • Lugg, R., & Fischer, R. (2008). Future tense--The disapproval plan: Rules-based weeding & storage decisions. Against the Grain, 20(6).
  • Lugg, R., & Fischer, R. (2013). Future tense--doing what’s obvious: Library space and the fat smoker. Against the Grain, 21(1), 47. https://doi.org/10.7771/2380-176X.2530
  • McHale, C., Egger-Sider, F., Fluk, L., & Ovadia, S. (2017). Weeding without walking: a mediated approach to list-based deselection. Collection Management, 42(2), 92–108. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2017.1318729
  • McKee, P. (1981). Weeding the Forest Hill Branch of Toronto Public Library by the Slote Method: A Test Case. Library Research, 3(3), 283–301.
  • Murphy, E. (2013). Assessing University Library Print Book Collections and Deselection: A Case Study at The National University of Ireland Maynooth. New Review of Academic Librarianship, 19(3), 256–273. https://doi.org/10.1080/13614533.2013.808252
  • Oliva, V. T. (2016). Deselection of print monographs in the humanities and social sciences in the digital age. Collection Building, 35(2), 37–47. https://doi.org/10.1108/CB-02-2016-0002
  • Osheroff, S. K., & Knittel, M. C. (1990). Team weeding in a university library. College & Research Libraries News, 51(8), 723–725.
  • Perrault, A. H., Madaus, R., Armbrister, A., Dixon, J., & Smith, R. (1999). The Effects of High Median Age on Currency of Resources in Community College Library Collections. College & Research Libraries, 60, 316–339.
  • Poller, M. (1976). Weeding Monographs in the Harrison Public Library. Collection Management, 1(1), 6–7.
  • Reed-Scott, J. (1985). Implementation and evaluation of a weeding program. Collection Management, 7(2), 59–67.
  • Rowley, G., & Black, W. K. (1996). Consequences of change: the evolution of collection development. Collection Building, 15(2), 22–30. https://doi.org/10.1108/01604959610113879
  • Snyder, C. E. (2014). Data-driven deselection: multiple point data using a decision support tool in an academic library. Collection Management, 39(1), 17–31. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2013.866607
  • Soma, A. K., & Sjoberg, L. M. (2010). More than just low-hanging fruit: A collaborative approach to weeding in academic libraries. Collection Management, 36(1), 17–28. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2011.529241
  • Way, D., & Garrison, J. (2013). Developing and implementing a disapproval plan: One university library’s experience. College & Research Libraries News, 74(6).
  • White, B. (2017). Citations and circulation counts: data sources for monograph deselection in research library collections. College & Research Libraries, 78(1). https://doi.org/doi:10.5860/crl.78.1.53
  • Williams, P. C., & Halvonik, Brent. (2004). Collection management: assessing and weeding the foreign language collection. College & Undergraduate Libraries, 11(2), 103–127. https://doi.org/10.1300/J106v11n02_09

Creative Commons license