Collections Curation Project, UCD Library: Decision Trees and Workflows

The Collections Curation Project is a strategy for improvement of print book collections through comprehensive collection management techniques, consistent with international best practice in university research libraries.

Overview

The following page contains the main decision trees that will be used during the Collections Curation Project from the Start path to the final decisions on retention or withdrawal. These trees give an idea of the types of quantitative and qualitative criteria that will be applied at each stage of the process.

The decision trees and associated workflows are still under development. More will be added as the project evolves.

Start Path

Collections Curation Decision Tree Start Path
The starting point for all items in the Collections Curation Project. Considers aspects of Library policy as well as quantitative criteria.

UCD Authors Path

Collections Curation Decision Tree UCD Authors Path
Criteria for consideration for the UCD Authors collection.

Short Loan Path

Collections Curation Decision Tree Short Loan Path
The Short Loan path shows the quantitative criteria that will be applied to the Short Loan Collection in the James Joyce Library. No titles will be removed from the Library in this section of the project. Titles will be moved to the General Collection where appropriate.

Reference Path

Collections Curation Decision Tree Reference Path
The Reference path outlines the main qualitative and quantitative criteria that will be considered when deciding to retain or remove a reference title.

Ebooks Path

Collections Curation Decision Tree Ebooks Path
In a small number of cases, UCD Library holds both an ebook and a print copy of the same title. The ebooks path shows the quantitative and qualitative policy criteria that will be applied when decided to retain or remove the print version of a title.

Candidates for Withdrawal

Collections Curation Decision Tree Candidates for Withdrawal Path
The candidate for withdrawal path outlines the more local and qualitative policy criteria that will be considered when deciding to retain or remove a title.

Creative Commons license

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License