- Library
- LibGuides
- Student Guides
- Computer Science
- Journal Articles and Databases
Computer Science: Journal Articles and Databases
Full Lists of Databases and eJournals
Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:
What Is Peer Review?
Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.
Finding Articles on Reading Lists
Try this first
You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.
Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.
If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.
Next steps:
If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"
For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf
For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.
Key Databases
Try one of these key databases for your subject:
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe Digital Library is the full-text repository of papers published by the Association for Computing Machinery and by other publishers that have co-publishing or co-marketing agreements with ACM. This includes over 60 years of ACM archives.
- Computer and Information Systems Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowBibliographic coverage of serial, non-serial and hard to find conference literature in computer science and related fields.
- Technology Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThe Technology Collection includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace and Materials Science & Engineering Databases. It combines broad indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in advanced technology, computer science, engineering, materials science and related areas with full-text titles full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
- Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a website that provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines.
- Scopus (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowScopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature. The platform also provides access to SciVal (access to SciVal requires registration, and is limited to on-campus only).
- ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes online eBooks, reference works, handbooks, book series, journal titles and backfiles.
- OAIsterOAIster is a union catalogue of millions of records representing open access resources worldwide.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowIEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL) provides a single source of almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature. Access is given to journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEEE).
Finding a Journal Article
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License