- Student Guides
- English, Drama, Film and Creative Writing
- Journal Articles and Databases
English, Drama, Film and Creative Writing: Journal Articles and Databases
What Is Peer Review?
Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.
Finding Articles on Reading Lists
Try this first
You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.
Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.
If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.
If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"
For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf
For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.
A Database is a bit like Google, but you only find Peer Reviewed articles, books, and other publications. Use one to find a selection of articles or other publications on a particular subject or for an assignment.
Links to the full-text will be provided, where available, by UCD Library.
Try one of these key databases for your subject:
- Literature Online (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowWith over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigital library of important scholarly archived journals spanning many subject disciplines. IReL provides access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I-VII, XI-XII; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences Collection.
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography (OUP) This link opens in a new windowThe World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide from 1960 to the present.
- Dictionary of Old English Web CorpusConsists of at least one copy of every Old English text, more copies are included if they are significant because of date or dialect.
- Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive 1554-2007 (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new windowLiterary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company Archive, 1554-2007 showcases a diverse range of material from the archive of the Stationers' Company archive including constitutional records, court records, membership records, financial records, trade records, general administrative records, and charities and property records. The Stationers' Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the establishment of legal requirements for publishing, especially copyright provisions, the printing and publishing community and the history of bookbinding.
- Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South This link opens in a new windowThe Southern Literary Messenger enjoyed an impressive thirty-year run and was in its time the South's most important literary periodical. Avowedly a southern publication, the Southern Literary Messenger was also the one literary periodical published that was widely circulated and respected among a northern readership. Throughout much of its run, the journal avoided sectarian political and religious debates, but, the sectional crisis of the 1850s gave the contents of the magazine an increasingly partisan flavor. By 1860 the magazine's tone had shifted to a defiantly proslavery and pro-South stance. Scholars and students of history, journalism, and literature can discern much about how the hot-button topics of slavery and secession were presented in southern intellectual and literary culture in the early stages of the Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers Part 1 (Gale) This link opens in a new windowA collection of national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule are also included, in addition to Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes.
- Bloomsbury Collections This link opens in a new windowA globally respected academic publisher of eBooks from across the humanities and social sciences. UCD Library purchases select titles to support online teaching and research across a range of subjects. The platform also includes Open Access eBooks.
- Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
- Drama Online This link opens in a new windowA collection of full text plays from ancient, modern and contemporary playwrights, from Aeschylus to the present day. Content is organised by plays, playwrights and practitioners, context and criticism, and theatre craft, and includes books, filmed live performances, audio recordings and study guides.
- Irish Studies Online (Liverpool University Press) This link opens in a new windowIrish Studies Online combines a variety of leading research in Irish Studies in to one online resource. It offers over 100 ebook volumes including the following series: Reappraisals in Irish History, Society for the Study of Nineteenth-Century Ireland, Liverpool Studies in Irish Literature, Clemson University Press, Writers and their Work, Eighteenth-Century Worlds, Liverpool English Texts and Studies, and more. It includes over 50 volumes (1961-2004) of academic research published in the renowned journals Eighteenth-Century Ireland and Studia Hibernica.
- Norton Critical and Norton Library Editions This link opens in a new windowA curated collection of essential classic texts of the traditional and authoritative Norton Critical and Norton Library Editions series. The titles are drawn from American Literature, 18th and 19th Century Literature, World Literature, Early Modern Drama, Short Stories and Poetry, and Religion and Epics. The texts are also accompanied with essays and other secondary readings, bibliographies and historical and contemporary analysis.
- Gale Research Complete This link opens in a new window(includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Short Story Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism)
- Gale Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new windowA Full Text that provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline.
- Gale Primary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search UCD Library purchased and subscribed Gale digital archives.
- Gale Literature Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) This link opens in a new windowComplete text of Gale's DLB series. The DLB covers a wide variety of literary topics, periods, and genres, and includes entries on authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
- Gale Literature Contemporary Authors (Gale) This link opens in a new windowContains brief biographical and bibliographical information on modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists, and scriptwriters. Biographies typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.
- Gale Literature Something About the Author (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides illustrated biographical profiles of authors and artists for children and young adults, ranging from established award winners to authors and illustrators who are just beginning their careers.
- Gale Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new windowArticles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
- Gale Literature LitFinder (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAccess literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more..
- Gale Literature Scribner Writer Series (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAccess original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world.
- Gale Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of magazines, newspapers, and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of subjects.
- Gale ebooks (Gale Research Complete) This link opens in a new windowThe Gale ebooks platform provides searchable ebook versions of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources on a wide range of subjects, including arts & humanities, biography, business, health sciences, history, social sciences, and natural sciences.
- Gale ebooks (UCD Library purchased titles) This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Full Lists of Databases and eJournals
Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:
Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals
JSTOR: Subject Searching for Articles
Watch a short tutorial on how to search for information on a subject in JSTOR:
If you you are having trouble viewing this video try this alternative link.
- Books and eBooks
- Journal Articles and Databases
- Tutorials and Videos
- Key Websites
- Film Studies
- Citing Information and Avoiding Plagiarism
- Poetry Reading Archive
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License
- Last Updated: Feb 26, 2023 4:06 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/englishdramafilm
- Print Page