- Library
- LibGuides
- Student Guides
- Geography
- Books & eBooks
Geography: Books & eBooks
Information on books, journals, databases and other useful geography resources.
Where in the Library?
Most print material related to Geography is held on level 2 of the James Joyce Library
Atlases are held in the Reference Collection.
Finding Books using OneSearch
Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:
Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections
Short Loan Collection
The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.
4-Hour Collection
The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.
Books for Geography
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. You can also browse the collection to find books for your research. The relevant shelf marks include, but are not limited to:
- 910 Geography and travel
- 911 Historical geography
- 912 Graphic representations of surface of earth and of extraterrestrial worlds
- 913-919 Geography of and travel in specific continents, countries, localities; extraterrestrial worlds
A selection of useful ebook titles available via UCD Library can be found through the following Library resources:
- Academic Complete
A multidisciplinary collection of over 180,000 scholarly titles from hundreds of leading academic publishers. eBooks are made available on ProQuest's eBook Central platform. Offers unlimited, multi-user access. To view content for specific disciplines, simply select from the "Browse Subject" option page
Human geography : places and regions in global context by Publication Date: 2016Human Geography: Places and Regions in Global Context is acclaimed for its global approach, conceptual rigor, engaging real-world applications, and outstanding visual program. Knox and Marston foster awareness of current issues and developing trends from a geographic perspective, and provide a solid foundation in the fundamentals of human geography.
Human Geography by Publication Date: 2014Using the story of the "West and the world" as its backdrop, this book provides for beginning students a clear and concise introduction to Human Geography, including its key concepts, seminal thinkers and their theories, contemporary debates, and celebrated case studies. Introduces and applies the basic concepts of human geography in clear, concise, and engaging prose.
Reconstructing Quaternary Environments by Publication Date: 2014The evidence is extremely diverse ranging from landforms and sediments to fossil assemblages and geochemical data, and includes new data from terrestrial, marine and ice-core records. Dating methods are described and evaluated, while the principles and practices of Quaternary stratigraphy are also discussed.
Fundamentals of the Physical Environment by Publication Date: 2013Fundamentals of the Physical Environment has established itself as anbsp;well-respected core introductory book for students of physical geography and the environmental sciences. Taking anbsp;systems approach, it demonstrates how the various factors operating at Earth's surface can and do interact, and how landscape can be used to decipher them.
The Global Casino by Publication Date: 2013The Global Casino is an introduction to environmental issues which deals both with the workings of the physical environment and the political, economic and social frameworks in which the issues occur.
Geographical Thought by Publication Date: 2011Geographical Thought provides a clear and accessible introduction to the key ideas and figures in human geography. The book provides an essential introduction to the theories that have shaped the study of societies and space. Opening with an exploration of the founding concepts of human geography in the nineteenth century academy, the author examine the range of theoretical perspectives that have emerged within human geography over the last century from feminist and Marxist scholarship, through to post-colonial and non-representational theories.
Introduction to Cities by Publication Date: 2018Written in engaging and accessible terms, Introduction to Cities examines the study of cities through two central concepts: that cities are places, where people live, form communities, and establish their own identities, and that they are spaces, such as the inner city and the suburb, that offer a way to configure and shape the material world and natural environment.
Key Concepts in Historical Geography by Publication Date: 2014Key Concepts in Historical Geography brings alive the human geographies of the past, and demonstrates their relevancy for understanding key aspects of the contemporary world.
Rebel Cities by Call Number: 307.76 HARPublication Date: 2013Long before Occupy, cities were the subject of much utopian thinking. They are the centers of capital accumulation as well as of revolutionary politics, where deeper currents of social and political change rise to the surface.
Cruel Harvest by Publication Date: 2012Argues that the US is not concerned about waging a war on drugs, and that alleged concerns about narco-terrorism mostly act to justify occupation.
Atmosphere, Weather and Climate by Publication Date: 2009This book presents a comprehensive introduction to weather processes and climatic conditions around the world, their observed variability and changes, and projected future trends.
Estuaries by Publication Date: 2009This volume provides researchers, students, practising engineers and managers access to knowledge, practical formulae and new hypotheses for the dynamics, mixing, sediment regimes and morphological evolution in estuaries. The objectives are to explain the underlying governing processes and synthesise these into descriptive formulae which can be used to guide the future development of any estuary.
River Variability and Complexity by Publication Date: 2005Rivers differ among themselves and through time. An individual river can vary significantly downstream, changing its dimensions and pattern dramatically over a short distance. If hydrology and hydraulics were the primary controls on the morphology and behaviour of large rivers, we would expect long reaches of rivers to maintain characteristic and relatively uniform morphologies.
After Repeal by Publication Date: 2020The referendum to overturn Ireland's near-total abortion ban in 2018 stands as one of the most remarkable political events of recent times. The campaign to repeal the 8th amendment succeeded not only in challenging centuries of religious and patriarchal dogma, but in signalling a major transformation in Irish society itself.
River Dynamics by Publication Date: 2020Rivers are important agents of change that shape the Earth's surface and evolve through time in response to fluctuations in climate and other environmental conditions. They are fundamental in landscape development, and essential for water supply, irrigation, and transportation.
Geographies of Development by Publication Date: 2019This clear and concise text encourages critical engagement by integrating theory alongside practice and related key topics throughout.
Geopolitics and Development by Publication Date: 2019Geopolitics and Development examines the historical emergence of development as a form of governmentality, from the end of empire to the Cold War and the War on Terror.
Spatial Histories of Radical Geography by Publication Date: 2019A wide-ranging and knowledgeable guide to the history of radical geography in North America and beyond. Focuses on the centrality of place, spatial circulation and geographical scale in understanding the rise of radical geography and its spread
Life Takes Place by Publication Date: 2018Life Takes Place argues that, even in our mobile, hypermodern world, human life is impossible without place.
Historical Geographies of Anarchism by Publication Date: 2017In the last few years, anarchism has been rediscovered as a transnational, cosmopolitan and multifaceted movement. Its traditions, often hastily dismissed, are increasingly revealing insights which inspire present-day scholarship in geography.
Population Geography by Publication Date: 2017This compact and accessible text provides a comprehensive, issue-oriented introduction to population geography. First grounding students in the fundamentals, Bruce Newbold then explains the tools and techniques commonly used to describe and understand population concepts using real-world issues and events.
Refiguring Techniques in Digital-Visual Research by Publication Date: 2017This book interrogates how new digital-visual techniques and technologies are being used in emergent configurations of research and intervention.
For Creative Geographies by Publication Date: 2013This book provides the first sustained critical exploration, and celebration, of the relationship between Geography and the contemporary Visual Arts.
The Routledge Research Companion to Geographies of Sex and Sexualities by Publication Date: 2016Comprehensive and authoritative, this state-of-the-art review both charts and develops the rich sub-discipline geographies of sexualities, exploring sex-gender, sexuality and sexual practices. Emerging from the desire to examine differences and exclusions as a key aspect of human geographies, these geographies have engaged with heterosexual and queer, lesbian, gay, bi and trans lives.
Urban Subversion and the Creative City by Publication Date: 2015This book provides a comprehensive critique of the current Creative City paradigm, with a capital 'C', and argues for a creative city with a small 'c' via a theoretical exploration of urban subversion.
Explore Everything by Publication Date: 2014What does it feel like to find the city's edge, to explore its forgotten tunnels and scale unfinished skyscrapers high above the metropolis? Explore Everything reclaims the city, recasting it as a place for endless adventure.
Video Methods by Publication Date: 2014This interdisciplinary collection provides a set of innovative and inventive approaches to the use of video as a research method. Building on the development of visual methods across the social sciences, it highlights a range of possibilities for making and working with video data.
Advances in Irish Quaternary Studies by Publication Date: 2016This book provides a new synthesis of the published research on the Quaternary of Ireland. It reviews a number of significant advances in the last three decades on the understanding of the pattern and chronology of the Irish Quaternary glacial, interglacial, floristic and occupation records.
Researching the City by Publication Date: 2013This practical guide for students focuses on the city and on the different ways to research it. The authors explains how research is done, from the original idea to design and implementation, through to writing up and representation.
A Companion to Social Geography by Publication Date: 2011This volume traces the complexity of social geography in both its historical and present contexts, whilst challenging readers to reflect critically on the tensions that run through social geographic thought.
Handbook of Strategic Environmental Assessment by Publication Date: 2011This authoritative handbook surveys the full breadth and depth of SEA, bringing together a range of international perspectives and insights on the theoretical, methodological and institutional dimensions and practical issues of the field.
Environmental Social Science by Publication Date: 2010Environmental Social Science offers a new synthesis of environmental studies, defining the nature of human-environment interactions and providing the foundation for a new cross-disciplinary enterprise that will make critical theories and research methods accessible across the natural and social sciences.
Survival City by Publication Date: 2010On the road to Survival City, Tom Vanderbilt maps the visible and invisible legacies of the cold war, exhuming the blueprints for the apocalypse we once envisioned and chronicling a time when we all lived at ground zero.
A Companion to Environmental Geography by Publication Date: 2009A Companion to Environmental Geography is the first book to comprehensively and systematically map the research frontier of 'human-environment geography' in an accessible and comprehensive way.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Geography by Publication Date: 2009Moving beyond textbook rehearsals of standard issues, the Handbook shows how empirical details of qualitative research can be linked to the broader social, theoretical, political, and policy concerns of qualitative geographers and the communities within which they work.
Picturing Empire by Publication Date: 1998Coinciding with the extraordinary expansion of Britain's overseas empire under Queen Victoria, the invention of photography allowed millions to see what they thought were realistic and unbiased pictures of distant peoples and places.
Subaltern Geographies by Publication Date: 2019Subaltern Geographies is a book-length discussion addressing the relationship between the historical innovations of subaltern studies and the critical intellectual practices and methodologies of cultural, urban, historical, and political geography.
GIS for Environmental Applications by Publication Date: 2016GIS for Environmental Applications provides a practical introduction to the principles, methods, techniques and tools in GIS for spatial data management, analysis, modelling and visualisation, and their applications in environmental problem solving and decision making.
Low Fertility, Institutions, and Their Policies by Publication Date: 2016This volume examines ten economically advanced countries in Europe and Asia that have experienced different levels of fertility decline. It offers readers a cross-country perspective on the causes and consequences of low birth rates and the different policy responses to this worrying trend. The countries examined are not only diverse geographically, historically, and culturally, but also have different policies and institutions in place.
After the World Trade Center by Publication Date: 2013The terrorist attacks of September 11 have created an unprecedented public discussion about the uses and meanings of the central area of lower Manhattan that was once the World Trade Center. While the city sifts through the debris, contrary forces shaping its future are at work. In After the World Trade Center, eminent social critics Sharon Zukin and Michael Sorkin call on New York's most acclaimed urbanists to consider the impact of the terrorist attack on the World Trade Center and what it bodes for the future of New York.
Territorial Patterns of Innovation by Publication Date: 2013This edited volume describes the spatial diffusion of knowledge and innovation using a large dataset at the regional level, and presents scientific evidence on the role of knowledge and innovation on regional development.
The Historic Urban Landscape by Publication Date: 2012This book offers an overview of the intellectual developments in urban conservation. Examples are drawn from urban heritage sites worldwide from Timbuktu to Liverpool to demonstrate key issues and best practice in urban conservation today.
Cities and Climate Change by Publication Date: 2011This volume comprises a collection of papers prepared and presented at the World Bank's Fifth Urban Research Symposium, as part of the World Bank Group's strategy to share and encourage research oriented to urban issues and bridge these academic results with the pressing needs of developing cities.
Public Places - Urban Spaces by Publication Date: 2011Public Places Urban Spaces, 2e, is an introduction to the principles of urban design theory and practice. Sustainability is the driving factor in urban regeneration and new urban development, and the new edition is focused on best sustainable design and practice. Public Places Urban Spaces is a must-have purchase for those on urban design courses and for professionals who want to update and refresh their knowledge.
Whose Public Space? International Case Studies in urban Design and Development by Publication Date: 2010Public spaces mirror the complexities of urban societies: as historic social bonds have weakened and cities have become collections of individuals public open spaces have also changed from being embedded in the social fabric of the city to being a part of more impersonal and fragmented urban environments. Can making public spaces help overcome this fragmentation, where accessible spaces are created through inclusive processes? This book offers some answers to this question through analysing the process of urban design and development in international case studies.
The Form of Cities by Publication Date: 2008The Form of Cities offers readers a considered theoretical introduction to the art of designing cities. Demonstrates that cities are replete with symbolic values, collective memory, association and conflict. Proposes a new theoretical understanding of urban design, and different ways of conceptualising the city, whether through aesthetics or the prism of gender.
GIS for Environmental Decision-Making by Publication Date: 2007Environmental applications have long been a core use of GIS. However, the effectiveness of GIS-based methods depends on the decision-making frameworks and contexts within which they are employed. GIS for Environmental Decision-Making takes an interdisciplinary look at the capacities of GIS to integrate, analyze, and display data on which decisions are based.
GIS and Evidence-Based Policy Making by Publication Date: 2007Although much has been written on evidence-based policy making, this is the first volume to address the potential of GIS in this arena. GIS and Evidence-Based Policy Making covers the development of new methodological approaches, emphasizing the identification of spatial patterns in social phenomena.
Applied GIS and Spatial Analysis by Publication Date: 2003Applications-driven book dealing with commercially-sponsored spatial analysis research. Focuses on business and public sector planning case studies, offering readers a snapshot of the use of spatial analysis across a broad range of areas.
The English Urban Landscape by Publication Date: 2000A volume on the history of the English urban environment that will appeal to both general readers and academic specialists. The emphasis throughout is emphatically that of the historian, rather than the physical geographer: that is, a primary focus on the people who make the landscapes, the changing social structure of the communities, and the different economies which sustained them.
Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information
Useful online reference material for Geography include:
The Dictionary of Human Geography by Publication Date: 2009The Dictionary of Human Geography represents the definitive guide to issues and ideas, methods and theories in human geography. The major entries not only describe the development of concepts, contributions and debates in human geography, but also advance them.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Landscape and Urban Planning by Publication Date: 2010-This unique, multilingual, encyclopedic dictionary in two volumes covers terms regularly used in landscape and urban planning, as well as environmental protection.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Publication Date: 2009The International Encyclopedia of Human Geography provides an authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the discipline of human geography and its constituent, and related, subject areas. The encyclopedia includes over 1,000 detailed entries on philosophy and theory, key concepts, methods and practices, biographies of notable geographers, and geographical thought and praxis in different parts of the world.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by Publication Date: 2015Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, Twenty Five Volume Set, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online (OUP) This link opens in a new windowOxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Covering the social and behavioural sciences, SAGE Knowledge provides access to thousands of scholarly eBooks published by SAGE. The collection also includes hundreds of award-winning reference titles including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks which provide students with the perfect place to start their research.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are learning, teaching and research materials in any format and medium that reside in the public domain or are under copyright that have been released under an open license, that permit no-cost access, re-use, re-purpose, adaptation and redistribution by others. (source: UNESCO)
- Directory of Open Access BooksDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
- OER CommonsOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
- Open Geography TextbooksThe philosophy behind Open Geography Education is to let the world's most intelligent minds and leaders be the contributors and content experts to the material through the power of the Internet. So though the written content in these eTextbooks may be less than a typical textbook, the majority of the content, expertise, and creditable sources will come from the world itself leading to engaging, dynamic, up-to-date content.
- Pressbooks DirectoryPressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,387 open access books published by 157 organizations and networks using Pressbooks. It's easy to copy, revise, remix, and redistribute any openly licensed content found here using Pressbooks' publishing platform. Nearly all books are highly accessible, and many include interactive H5P learning activities to engage learners.
Connect With Us!
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License