Geography: Sustainability

Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know is an overview of the science, conflicts, and implications of our warming planet. offering user-friendly, scientifically rigorous answers to the most difficult (and commonly politicized) questions surrounding what climatologist Lonnie Thompson has deemed "a clear and present danger to civilization."

This volume comprises a collection of papers prepared and presented at the World Bank's Fifth Urban Research Symposium, as part of the World Bank Group's strategy to share and encourage research oriented to urban issues and bridge these academic results with the pressing needs of developing cities.

Climate Change Economics (CCE) publishes theoretical and empirical papers devoted to analyses of mitigation, adaptation, impacts, and other issues related to the policy and management of greenhouse gases. CCE is specifically devoted to papers in economics although it is understood that authors may need to rely on other fields for important insights.

Open Access journal which provides a platform for papers assessing approaches to combat and cope with climate change.

An evolving online database of reviews on climate change. Published in association with the Royal Meteorological Society and the Royal Geographical Society.

A partnership between the European Commission and the European Environment Agency (EEA). Climate-ADAPT is maintained by the EEA with the support of the European Topic Centre on Climate Change Impacts, Vulnerability and Adaptation (ETC/CCA).

The web portal for the United Nations entity tasked with supporting the global response to the threat of climate change.

This scientific assessment examines how climate change is already affecting human health in the U.S. and the changes that may occur in the future.

In response to the challenges of a growing population and food security, there is an urgent need to construct a new agri-food sustainability paradigm. This book brings together an integrated range of key social science insights exploring the contributions and interventions necessary to build this framework.

Sustainability has become an issue widely debated in many countries. Given the central role of food supply and the emotional relationship that modern mankind still has to its food, sustainability is seen as a value which has to be maintained throughout food supply chains.This book covers a broad range of aspects within the general issue of sustainable food production and ethics.

Peer-reviewed open access journal, addressing the challenges of global food security.

As the global population grows from 7 billion in 2010 to a projected 9.8 billion in 2050, and incomes grow across the developing world, overall food demand is on course to increase by more than 50 percent, and demand for animal-based foods by nearly 70 percent. Yet today, hundreds of millions of people remain hungry, agriculture already uses almost half of the world’s vegetated land, and agriculture and related land-use change generate one-quarter of annual greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions.

The PLOS Medicine series on Big Food aims to examine and stimulate debate about the activities and influence of the food industry in global health. We define “Big Food” as the multinational food and beverage industry with huge and concentrated market power.

This book is a primer for readers of all levels on the coming energy transition and its global consequences. Bruce Usher provides a concise yet comprehensive explanation for the growth in wind and solar energy; the trajectory of the transition from fossil fuels to renewables; and the implications for industries, countries, and the climate.

The increasing number of wind power plants, solar collectors and photovoltaic installations demonstrates perceptibly that many innovations for tapping renewable energy sources have matured: very few other technologies have developed so dynamically in the past years.

The journal, Renewable Energy, seeks to promote and disseminate knowledge on the various topics and technologies of renewable energy systems and components. The journal aims to serve researchers, engineers, economists, manufacturers, NGOs, associations and societies to help them keep abreast of new developments in their specialist fields and to apply alternative energy solutions to current practices.

This Commission department is responsible for the EU's energy policy: secure, sustainable, and competitively priced energy for Europe.

The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.

Introduction to Sustainability is the first major textbook to review major themes in the cutting-edge field of sustainability. The book is suitable for introductory interdisciplinary courses on sustainability, as well as those in the fields of geography, geology, sociology, planning, political science, and anthropology. Brinkmann's book allows students to see the world in new ways while also encouraging them to become part of the change needed to ensure the long-term sustainability of the planet.

Peer-reviewed journal

This journal is an interdisciplinary publication which seeks to address and discuss ways to deliver sustainable development. Papers must address issues associated with the achievement of sustainable development or one or more of the Sustainable Development Goals. All contributions are refereed with the aim of providing the readership with high quality, original material.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).

This free research database provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.

The official website for the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals Strategy. it lists all 17 goals and introduces each individual goal in depth.

An independent think-tank registered as a charitable organisation in Canada, with offices in Winnipeg, Ottawa, Toronto, and Geneva. Its main programme areas are Economic Law and Policy, Resilience, Energy, Water, and Sustainable Development Goals Knowledge

The triple environmental crises of climate change, nature loss, and pollution are bringing the planet to dangerous tipping points and threatening to reverse decades of development progress. Economic development and growth cannot longer happen at the expense of the planet’s natural capital.

Ensuring adequate food and water to all and achieving sustainable rural development and livelihoods for current and future generations all hinge upon the responsible management of natural resources. These web pages provide key information related to land, water and genetic resources, and the access to and tenure of these resources

Online learning platform developed and operated by the Digital Learning Unit of the Research and Transfer Center, Sustainability and Climate Change“ (FTZ-NK) at the Hamburg University of Applied Sciences.

The SDG Academy is the premier source of high-quality resources and guidance on education for the SDGs, with the mandate to enrich the field of sustainable development and advance Agenda 2030

The Routledge Handbook of Transport Economics offers the first state of the art overview of the discipline of transport economics as it stands today, reflective of key research and policy. Transport is an important area of study and one which is problem rich, stimulating a great deal of debate in areas which impact on everyday lives.

NREL publishes the results of its sustainable transportation and mobility systems research in technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, and more.

The European Journal of Transport and Infrastructure Research (EJTIR) is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal, freely accessible through the internet.

The Journal of Transport Geography is a leading interdisciplinary journal focusing on the geographical dimensions of transport, travel and mobility. It is international in its outlook, and welcomes both conceptual papers and theoretically-informed, empirically-oriented contributions on the movement of people, goods and/or information by any mode and at every geographical scale.

Irish government policy information on transport and climate change.

Access to clean water and energy are critical to economic growth and sustainable development. Providing water and energy services has important environmental impacts. Understanding the inextricable linkages among water, energy, and environment - the water-energy-environment nexus - will be a priority for all levels of government in the decades ahead as they develop and implement policies to enhance human welfare. We are also experiencing the beginning of an energy revolution in these early years of the 21st Century.

An intellectual history of America's water management philosophy Humans take more than their geological share of water, but they do not benefit from it equally. This imbalance has created an era of intense water scarcity that affects the security of individuals, states, and the global economy.

Water International is the official journal of the International Water Resources Association (IWRA), founded in 1972 to serve as an international gateway to the people, ideas and networks that are critical to the sustainable management of water resources around the world. Water International's articles, state-of-the-art reviews, technical notes and other matter are policy-relevant and aimed at communicating in-depth knowledge to a multidisciplinary and international community.

This resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.

Project managed by the Pacific Institute, a A U.S.-based non-profit organisation whose stated mission is "to create a world in which society, the economy, and the environment have the water they need to thrive now and in the future."

Soil and Water Conservation: An Annotated Bibliography highlights freely-available online resources covering various aspects of soil and water conservation, and is designed to be a resource for conservation students and practitioners. The thirteen chapters in the annotated bibliography are grouped into four sections, including History and Fundamentals, Conservation Practices, Conservation Implementation, and Careers.