Irish, Celtic Studies & Folklore: Books & eBooks
Finding Books using OneSearch
Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections
Short Loan Collection
The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.
The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.
Special Collections contains unique book, archival and manuscript collections. UCD students and staff, and external users can consult the collections in the Special Collections reading room. Special Collections is located on Level 1 of the James Joyce Library.
Books for Irish, Celtic Studies & Folklore
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful titles available via UCD Library include:
- An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online titles covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.
- Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics aspires to be the most authoritative, comprehensive and international reference source in its field. It contains over 3000 articles on all aspects of language and linguistics and includes 200 language maps, with information on number of speakers and language family. There are approximately 700 biographical entries, including those of contemporary linguists.
Reference Books for Irish, Celtic Studies & Folklore
Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information.
Useful online reference material for Irish, Celtic Studies & Folklore include:
- An FoclóirOnline Irish Dictionary
- Cló Irish Books in PrintOffers bibliographic details of Irish-published, Irish-authored and Irish-interest titles currently in print. Includes also listings from Books Ireland of latest Irish-published books and a publisher and distributor contact database.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography (RIA) This link opens in a new windowThe Dictionary of Irish Biography is Ireland's national biographical dictionary. Devised, researched, written and edited under the auspices of the Royal Irish Academy, its online edition covers nearly 11,000 lives. It describes and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (OUP) This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative biographical resource offering access to over 50,000 biographies of distinguished persons from all walks of life who have shaped the lives of the British Isles and beyond. Coverage: from earliest time to 2002. Includes deceased persons only. Powerful advanced search capabilities. Print version available in James Joyce Library at GR920.042/DIC.
Where in the Library?
Most print material related to Irish, Celtic Studies & Folklore is held on level 2 of the James Joyce Library
Finding an eBook using OneSearch
- Books & eBooks
- Journal Articles & Databases
- Tutorials and Videos
- Key Websites
- Citing Information & Avoiding Plagiarism
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License
- Last Updated: Mar 10, 2023 9:47 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/irish
- Print Page