- Student Guides
- Irish, Celtic Studies & Folklore
- Journal Articles & Databases
Irish, Celtic Studies & Folklore: Journal Articles & Databases
What Is Peer Review?
Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.
Finding Articles on Reading Lists
Try this first
You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.
Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.
If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.
If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"
For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf
For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.
Key Databases for Irish, Celtic Studies & Folklore
Databases allow you to search across a range of different journals, books and other publications for information on a specific topic. Databases contain peer-reviewed, scholarly material. Links to the full-text will be provided, where available, by UCD Library.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowArts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepols) This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.
- CELT: Corpus of Electronic TextsOnline database of contemporary and historical topics from many areas, including literature and the other arts.
- Comhar TaighdePeer-reviewed journal for Modern Irish.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigital library of important scholarly archived journals spanning many subject disciplines. IReL provides access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I-VII, XI-XII; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences Collection.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThis database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography contains more than 1.7 million records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.
Full Lists of Databases and eJournals
Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:
Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals
JSTOR: Subject Searching for Articles
Watch a short tutorial on how to search for information on a subject in JSTOR:
If you you are having trouble viewing this video try this alternative link.
JSTOR: Searching for articles
Finding a journal article using OneSearch
- Books & eBooks
- Journal Articles & Databases
- Tutorials and Videos
- Key Websites
- Citing Information & Avoiding Plagiarism
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License
- Last Updated: Mar 10, 2023 9:47 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/irish
- Print Page