- Student Guides
- Journal Articles & Databases
Music: Journal Articles & Databases
What Is Peer Review?
Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.
Finding Articles on Reading Lists
Try this first
You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.
Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.
If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.
If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"
For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf
For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.
Key Databases for Music
Databases allow you to search across a range of different journals, books and other publications for information on a specific topic. Databases contain peer-reviewed, scholarly material. Links to the full-text will be provided, where available, by UCD Library.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigital library of important scholarly archived journals spanning many subject disciplines. IReL provides access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I-VII, XI-XII; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences Collection.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography contains more than 1.7 million records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of classical and world music that includes several big labels including EMI, Naxos, and Marco Polo. The recordings are accompanied by descriptions, translations, essays, etc.
- Oxford Music Online (OUP) This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online offers a dynamic research tool combining the full text of the 29-volume print edition with the added benefit of sophisticated search capabilities, one-click cross-referencing, and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProduced by Rapertoire International de Litterature Musicale, this comprehensive music bibliography features citations, abstracts and subject indexing. RILM Abstracts of Music Literature's coverage spans 1967 to the present, and the database is updated monthly.
- RISM Music Manuscripts DatabaseProvides details of music manuscripts dating from between 1600 and 1800 preserved in national, public, and academic libraries in the U.K., and in the country's record offices and other public archives. It also includes details of music manuscripts held by some Dublin libraries.
Full Lists of Databases and eJournals
Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:
Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals
JSTOR: Subject Searching for Articles
Watch a short tutorial on how to search for information on a subject in JSTOR:
If you you are having trouble viewing this video try this alternative link.
- Books & eBooks
- Journal Articles & Databases
- Tutorials and Videos
- Key Websites
- Citing Information & Avoiding Plagiarism
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License
- Last Updated: Feb 26, 2023 2:41 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/music
- Print Page