Newspapers at UCD and on the Web: Our Main Online Newspapers

Newspapers provide a wealth of primary source material for scholarly research in many subject areas. Our newspaper collections are available in both online and print formats. This page summarises what is available.

The Irish Times Digital Archive (1859-2010)

Irish Times (1859-2022) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Contains the Irish Times Digital Archive - a fully searchable archive which includes every page published since the newspapers foundation in 1859. Coverage: 1859-2022.

European Newsstream

European Newsstream This link opens in a new window
European Newsstream enables users to search the most recent Irish, United Kingdom and European news content with archives back to the 1990s, including newspapers such, newswires, journals, and websites in full-text format.

Gale OneFile News

Gale OneFile News (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 2,000 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Factiva

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, one of the leading global provider of economic and financial information. The platform provides access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets. **PLEASE NOTE: Excessive or automated downloading of articles is not permitted and may result in termination of access by the publisher.**

19th Century British Library Newspapers

19th Century British Library Newspapers Part 1 (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A collection of national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule are also included, in addition to Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes.

The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 2012)

The Times Digital Archive (1785-2012)
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2012.

The Irish Times (1995- )

Irish Times (1995 - ) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
A full-text newspaper article database containing articles published in the Irish Times from 1995 to present. Full-text articles only, excludes images.

Irish Newspapers Archives

Irish Newspapers Archives This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of over six million Irish national, regional and historical newspapers.

Holds digitised archived regional and national Irish newspapers. This means that you can view the newspapers exactly as they would have appeared in their print version. Please note that this database is a work in progress. Its coverage is not always complete and some gaps occur. Its holdings include:

Freeman’s Journal 1763-1924
Irish Independent 1905-2001, 2010-2011
Irish Press 1931-1995
Irish Farmers Journal 1957-1998
Nation 1842-1897
Sunday Independent 1906-2002, 2010-2011

Nexis Advance UK

Nexis Advance UK This link opens in a new window
Nexis Advance UK provides full text access to regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company reports and country reports. For academic use only.

Nexis Advance UK provides access to full text access to regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company reports and country reports. The New platform for Nexis UK was launched on 1st October 2019.

Offers access to a large range of English and foreign-language newspapers from around the globe. It includes regional, national and international titles. The coverage is largely late 20th century to present. The database is updated daily.

To access Irish newspapers, go to the Sources tab, and filter the listing by Publication Location on the sidebar. Select International, then Europe, and then Ireland.

Irish newspaper holdings include:

Belfast Telegraph, January 1996-current
Irish Examiner, August 2007-current
Irish Independent, July 2006-current
Irish Times, June 1992-current
Sunday Independent, October 2006-current
Sunday Tribune, September 2001-2011

UK holdings in Nexis Advance

To access the UK newspapers, go to the Sources tab, and filter the listing by Publication Location on the sidebar. Select International, then Europe, and then United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Holdings include:

The Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday, January 1992-current
The Daily Telegraph, October 2000-current
The Guardian, July 1984-current
The Independent, September 1988-current
The Observer,, October 1992-current
The Sun, January 2000-current
The Sunday Times, July 1985-current
The Times, July 1985-current

International titles in Nexis Advance

These include:

Die Welt, March 1999-current
El Pais, April 1996-current
International Herald Tribune, July 1991-current
La Stampa, January 1992-current
South China Morning Post, July 1992-current
The Moscow Times, December 1993-May 2008
The New York Times, June 1980-current
The San Francisco Chronicle, October 1989-current