- Library
- LibGuides
- Student Guides
- Social Justice
- Books & eBooks
Social Justice: Books & eBooks
Where in the Library?
Most print material related to social justice is held on level 4 of the James Joyce Library
Finding Books using OneSearch
Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:
Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections
Short Loan Collection
The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.
4-Hour Collection
The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.
Books for Social Justice
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. You can also browse the collection to find books for your research. The relevant shelf marks include, but are not limited to:
- 150 Psychology
- 306 Cultures and institutions
- 307 Communities
- 320 Political science
- 323 Civil and political rights
- 344 Law
- 360 Social problems and social services
- 361 Social problems and social welfare
- 362 Social welfare problems and services
A selection of useful book titles available via UCD Library include:
Anti-Discriminatory Practice by Call Number: 361.32 THOPublication Date: 2020Addressing the common concepts and issues across the various forms of discrimination, this book explores the reasons why the development of anti-discriminatory practice is so vital, and examines the steps that need to be taken towards constructing a social work practice based on principles of anti-discrimination and the promotion of equality.
Building Better Societies by Call Number: 361.2 ATKPublication Date: 2017The book looks at what is needed to prevent the proliferation of harm and the gradual collapse of civil society. It argues that social scientists need to cast aside their commitment to the established order and its ideological support systems, look ahead at the likely outcomes of various interventions and move to the forefront of informed political debate.
Rethinking Economic Policy for Social Justice by Call Number: 338.9 BALPublication Date: 2016Rethinking Economic Policy for Social Justice shows how human rights have the potential to transform economic thinking and policy-making with far-reaching consequences for social justice.
Courting Social Justice by Call Number: 341.48 GAUPublication Date: 2010This book argues that courts can advance social and economic rights under the right conditions precisely because they are never fully independent of political pressures.
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful ebook titles and ebook databases available via UCD Library include:
- Academic Complete
A multidisciplinary collection of over 180,000 scholarly titles from hundreds of leading academic publishers. eBooks are made available on ProQuest's eBook Central platform. Offers unlimited, multi-user access. To view content for specific disciplines, simply select from the "Browse Subject" option page
- ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive electronic library consists of scholarly and peer reviewed books in the humanities.
- Women Writers Online This link opens in a new windowThe Brown University Women Writers Project is a long-term research project that aims to make texts by pre-Victorian (1400-1850) women writers accessible to a wide audience of scholars, students and general readers. All of these texts can be browsed, searched, and analysed using tools which provide access to the full XML encoding.
Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information
Useful online reference material for Social Justice include:
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by Call Number: 303.48403 ANDPublication Date: 2007The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Encyclopedia of Sex and GenderPublication Date: 2007Examines issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality
Encyclopedia of Transitional Justice by Publication Date: 2013Three-volume encyclopedia with nearly 300 entries on issues of transitional justice covering historical and contemporary periods. Transitional justice focuses on states and societies that have suffered massive human rights abuses. Contributors discuss such subjects as South Africa post-apartheid, Argentina after the "Dirty War," and the Nuremberg Trials after WW II.
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism (Gale) This link opens in a new windowExamines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Covering the social and behavioural sciences, SAGE Knowledge provides access to thousands of scholarly eBooks published by SAGE. The collection also includes hundreds of award-winning reference titles including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks which provide students with the perfect place to start their research.
- SAGE Research Methods Core Collection This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students from all disciplines with their research projects.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are learning, teaching and research materials in any format and medium that reside in the public domain or are under copyright that have been released under an open license, that permit no-cost access, re-use, re-purpose, adaptation and redistribution by others. (source: UNESCO)
- Dictionary of Irish BiographyThe Dictionary of Irish Biography is Ireland's national biographical dictionary. Devised, researched, written and edited under the auspices of the Royal Irish Academy, its online edition covers nearly 11,000 lives. It describes and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
- Directory of Open Access BooksDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
- OER CommonsOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
- Pressbooks DirectoryPressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,387 open access books published by 157 organizations and networks using Pressbooks. It's easy to copy, revise, remix, and redistribute any openly licensed content found here using Pressbooks' publishing platform. Nearly all books are highly accessible, and many include interactive H5P learning activities to engage learners.
Connect With Us!
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License