Veterinary Nursing: Books
Essential books, journals and other key academic resources
Where in the Library?
Most print materials related to Veterinary Nursing are held in the Veterinary Medicine Library.
Materials in related disciplines can be found in the Health Sciences Library and the James Joyce Library.
Finding Books using OneSearch
Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:
Reference Works
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary by Call Number: Vet, Reference 636.08903 STUISBN: 070203231XPublication Date: 2011
Dictionary of Veterinary Nursing by Call Number: Vet, 636.08907303 LAN Multiple copiesISBN: 0080452655Publication Date: 2007
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology by Call Number: Vet, Reference 574.2903 CRUISBN: 0849319358Publication Date: 2003
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by
Thoroughly updated, this user-friendly reference, trusted for more than a century by healthcare personnel at every professional level, allows you to grasp the meanings of all medical terms in current usage. Understand and correctly use all the latest terminology in today's ever-evolving medical field with the 32nd Edition of the comprehensive, highly respected Dorlands Illustrated Medical Dictionary! Enhance your understanding of all the current medical terminology in your field by relying on the most comprehensive and highly respected medical dictionary, bringing you more than 120,000 well-defined entries and 1500 clear illustrations. Listen to 35,000 audio pronunciations. Search www.Dorlands.com on the Internet anytime, anywhere for all of the language integral to contemporary medicine. Make sure you're familiar with the very latest medical terms used today with more than 5,500 new entries drawn from current sources. Complement your understanding of new words and ideas in medicine with 500 new illustrations Get more information in a smaller amount of space as the revised entry format includes related parts of speech. Dorland's: The first and last word in medicine for over 110 years
Call Number: Vet, Reference 610.3 DORISBN: 9781416062578Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Thesis
- Comparative studies in veterinary radiography in Ireland Thesis | University College Dublin | 2014 / Cliona SkellyCall Number: Available at Vet, Store Thesis Collection (Thesis 337)
Special Collections
Special Collections contains unique book, archival and manuscript collections. UCD students and staff, and external users can consult the collections in the Special Collections reading room. Special Collections is located on Level 1 of the James Joyce Library.
Search Across Our Collections
Problems searching? Click here
Books
All books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch. A sample of core textbooks in your discipline include:
The Consulting Veterinary Nurse by Call Number: Vet, General 636.089073 ACKISBN: 0470655143Publication Date: 2012
The Complete Textbook of Veterinary Nursing by Call Number: Vet, 636.089073 ASP Multiple copiesISBN: 9780750688475Publication Date: 2006
Canine and Feline Advanced Veterinary Nursing by Call Number: Vet, 636.089073 BSA Multiple copiesISBN: 0905214927Publication Date: 2008- BSAVA pocketbook for veterinary nurses byCall Number: Vet, 4-Hour Collection 636.089073 BSAISBN: 9781905319527Publication Date: 2013
Clinical Procedures in Veterinary Nursing by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. The second edition of Clinical Procedures in Veterinary Nursing continues to provide a detailed 'skills analysis' of all the clinical procedures likely to be performed by a veterinary nurse in practice. Using its unique systematic approach, the book explains practical procedures used daily in veterinary practice, covering all aspects of a veterinary nurse's tasks, concentrating on small animal procedures. Clearly illustrated, with accompanying text provided in an accessible action-rationale format, each procedure includes an explanation of the theory behind the action, thus linking the classroom with clinical practice. With many additional and updated procedures this new edition concurs with current standards and introduces the most modern techniques to the veterinary nurse. "Overall, it is a book that I would recommend to be in the veterinary practice library to complement student veterinary nurses' learning during their training programmes and as an excellent refresher for qualified nurses." Reviewed by: Victoria Bowes, Veterinary Record Date: 31/05/2014 All the principal basic procedures are covered Uses a step-by-step 'action/rationale' approach for maximum clarity Covers companion animals and exotic species Never struggle to find definitive information on basic procedures again A reference guide to best practice for both qualified and trainee veterinary nurses and veterinary technicians Presents full colour artworks and photographs throughout Includes brand new chapter on Minor Surgical Procedures Includes brand new chapter on Basic Clinical Procedures in the Horse Anaesthesia sections have been extensively updated Gives access to the Aspinall online library of clinical procedures videos
Call Number: Vet, General 636.089073 ASPISBN: 9780702051104Publication Date: 2014-01-23
Handbook of Veterinary Nursing by
Handbook of Veterinary Nursing presents essential guidance and helpful tips on developing and delivering high quality nursing care and skills. Fully updated, this easy-to-follow guide reflects recent changes to veterinary nursing qualifications, current terminology and drugs in use. The emphasis is on the importance of working methodically, using high quality procedures, to help the whole veterinary team ensure the most successful outcomes in animal care. Written in note form for quick reference by veterinary nurses and technicians at all stages of their training and career, this will be invaluable for both exam revision and quick reference in clinic. Contents include: The nursing process in veterinary care, physical assessment of the patient, managing the hospital environment, managing the operating room, surgical nursing activities, anaesthesia, diagnostic imaging, diagnostic tests, triage and emergency procedures, and essential calculations for drugs, fluids, nutrition and radiographic exposures. Key features: ?Gives clinical advice quickly and simply ?Written by authors with many years experience of veterinary nurse training and education ?Contains essential calculations ?Illustrated in colour throughout
Call Number: Vet, General 636.089073 ORPISBN: 9781405145534Publication Date: 2010-10-18
BSAVA Textbook of Veterinary Nursing by
This work is a standard textbook for veterinary nurse training in the UK. It contains complete coverage of the SNVQ Levels 2 and 3 Veterinary Nursing syllabus.
Call Number: Vet, General 636.089073 BSAISBN: 9780905214894Publication Date: 2007-06-19
Practical Veterinary Nursing by
This practical accompaniment to the more theoretical BSAVA Textbook of Veterinary Nursing, Fourth Edition ('Jones's') has been completely revised to reflect to the advances in veterinary nursing. The layout lends itself to ease of use in day-to-day practice and provides useful information for many situations. It will help any nurse to make improvements in their daily nursing of animals and the care and service they provide to their owners.
Call Number: Vet, General 636.089073 BSAISBN: 9780905214917Publication Date: 2007-10-22
Veterinary Nursing : Self-Assessment Questions and Answers by
Reflecting changes to the National Occupational Standards, the new edition of this popular self-test guide includes revised content, new material, and an additional discussion on why an incorrect answer might have been chosen and why confusion could have arisen in the reader's mind. A companion to Lane and Cooper's Veterinary Nursing, this practical resource follows the structure of the main text and includes answers that function as mini-tutorials, with clear rationales for the correct answer and learning opportunities for the student. · Content is structured around the format of the main textbook to enable students to undertake a planned course of study or revision. · Self-assessment opportunities provide students with a clear understanding of their level of competence to help them be successful in both assessment and examination. · Additional information has been added to reflect updates to the third edition of Veterinary Nursing. · Revised content addresses the latest changes to the S/NVQ syllabus. · In-depth answers provide clear rationales and explanations for both correct and incorrect choices.
Call Number: Vet, General 636.089073 OUSISBN: 9780750687812Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Veterinary Nursing of Exotic Pets by
Veterinary practices are seeing an increasing number of exotic pets and nurses are at the front-line in ensuring that these exotic pets receive the best possible care. This text provides the principles and applications of nursing exotic species as encountered in both general and specialized veterinary practice.
Call Number: Vet, General 636.089073 GIRISBN: 1405107472Publication Date: 2003-03-31
eBooks
- Ebook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowAn extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities. UCD Library purchases select ebooks to support teaching, learning and research.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License