Skip to main content

Health & Wellbeing Collection: Introduction

All about the Health and Wellbeing Collection at UCD Library

UCD Books on Prescription: Health & Wellbeing Collection

We know that university life can sometimes be challenging. That’s why the UCD Student Health Service and the UCD Library Service have put together a collection of books on a wide range of topics around personal health and well-being.

Whether you’re interested in managing stress and learning some new relaxation techniques, or having more difficult mental heath issues,there are books here that can help.
 
Or, if you would simply like to learn more about cookery, exercise, nutrition and sexual health, there’s plenty of new titles to suit your needs - reflecting high street bookshops.

Although members of the Student Health team recommend specific titles to students during consultations, the Heath and Wellbeing range is available to the whole student body to browse and borrow themselves. 

Health & Wellbeing Collection, Health Sciences Library

Accessing and Borrowing Books from the Collection

Life Skills Collection, James Joyce Library

Where are the books located?

The Health & Wellbeing Collection is part of the Life Skills Collection on Level 1 of the James Joyce Library. You can find the books located in the set of green shelves in the Library Hub area.

Copies of the books are also located in the UCD Health Sciences Library, adjacent to the UCD Student Health Centre. Enter the UCD Health Sciences Centre, and the library is directly in front of you. Follow the signage directing you to "Health & Wellbeing" on the ground floor near the stairs. Directions and Floorplan.

Borrowing

When you find your book, simply take it to the self-service machine to borrow it using your UCard. If you are unable to locate a book, just ask a member of staff who will be happy to assist.

 

Books already on loan

You can place a reservation via the Library's online catalogue and we will hold the book for you on its return. You may also be recommended an alternative title.

What if a book is to be filled in?

Some books may have questionnaires or exercises to complete. Please make a copy so you may fill in your own details.

Confidentiality

Library staff are professionals and will treat you with respect and discretion. They won't divulge any personal information about individual borrowing.

 

For further information on the Health & Wellbeing Collection visit the UCD Library website.

Visit the Collection

Visit the Collection on Level 1 of the James Joyce Library and the ground floor of the Health Sciences Library.

Further Help & Support

Other sources of help available to students include:

Student Advisors

Student Health Service

Chaplaincy

Student Counselling

Students' Union

© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License