Skip to main content

Life Skills Collection: Content of the Collection

About the Health and Wellbeing, Books on Prescription, Study Skills, Cookery and Travel Collections.

Introduction

  • Use this collection to find books on topics like study skills, healthy eating, sexual health, mental health and improving your self esteem.
  • The collection includes two sets of material which are described below.

Health and Wellbeing Collection

More information and a listing of titles is available in our online guide to the collection.

This collection on health and wellbeing, which includes the ‘Books on Prescription’ scheme, has been developed with the UCD Student Health Services.

It is available in the Health Sciences Library and James Joyce Library.

The collection includes books on the following topics:

  • Managing stress
  • Mental health
  • Nutrition & cooking
  • Physical health & exercise
  • Relaxation
  • Self esteem
  • Cookery
  • Sexual health

Bibliotherapy is the term used to describe the recommendation of specially selected books as a stand alone treatment or an adjunct to other therapies, primarily for mental health issues. These books often include a self-help plan.

  • Users may be recommended or prescribed a book by the welfare service or student health team. These books written by leading experts may be used as an additional form of treatment.
     
  • Users can browse the collection and borrow books from it.
     
  • Students may also borrow books using the Self-Service machines.
     
  • The confidentiality of Library staff is guaranteed.
     
  • Some books may have questionnaires or exercises to complete. Please make a copy so you may fill in your own details.

Related Guides

Study Skills Collection

More information and a listing of titles is available in our online guide to the collection.

This collection is located on Level 1 of the James Joyce Library, adjacent to the Service Desk and Library Hub area.

It includes books on the following topics:

  • Critical thinking
  • Doing projects
  • Doing research
  • Effective communication
  • Finding information
  • Reading & writing skills
  • Study strategies
  • Time management
  • Writing techniques
  • Writing a literature review
  • Writing a paper, dissertation and thesis
© 2015 University College Dublin Library T + 353 (0)1 7167583 | E library@ucd.ie Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland License