Open Access: Finding OA Materials
Discover the benefits of increasing the visibility and impact of your research outputs.
Repositories in Ireland
Directories
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access JournalsAn online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- DOAB: Directory of Open Access BooksA directory of academic peer-reviewed books from many publishers.
- OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access RepositoriesProvides access to academic open access repositories from around the world.
- ROAR: Registry of Open Access RepositoriesPromotes the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.
Search Engines
This is the most common way of locating open access materials. As shown in the example below there will often be two links, one to the freely-available PDF version in an open access repository and the other to the published version, access to which will be dependent on a subscription:
The following are specific open access search engines:
- OpenAire ExploreFind over 40m open access publications, open datasets and software from over 18,000 content providers.
- COREGives you access to millions of scholarly articles aggregated from over 600 Open Access repositories.
- Base BielefeldAccess to millions of scholarly articles and other materials (e.g. theses) from more than 3,000 sources.
Browser Extensions
- Unpaywall browser extensionUnpaywall harvests Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and make it easy to find, track, and use through a free browser extension.
- Open Access ButtonUse the OA Button website or Chrome browser extension to locate free, legal research articles delivered instantly or automatically requested from authors.
Preprint Archives
- ArXivOpen access to over 900,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
- SocArXivSocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.
- bioRxivbioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution.
- OSF PreprintsThe OSF is a free, open source service of the Center for Open Science, and provides a platform for many disciplinary preprint services including AgriXiv, PsyArXiv and SportRxiv.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License