Agriculture & Food Science: Books
essential books, journals and other key academic resources
Dewey Shelfmark Nos. Books & Journals
Chemistry 530
Physics 540
Geology 550
Biology 570
Ecology, Hydrobiology 574
Cell Biology, Genetics 576
Biochemistry, Molecular Biology 577
Botany 580
Zoology 590
Animal Science 630
Animal Husbandry 630
Crops 631.51
Forestry 634.9
Horticulture 635
Wildlife Management 639.9
Food Science 660
eBook Collections
- Ebook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities. UCD Library purchases select ebooks to support teaching, learning and research.
- EnviroNetBase ebooks (CRC Press) This link opens in a new windowComplete with the latest research on pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination, this e-book collection provides complete access to references on methods for site assessment, remediation, and soil and water quality monitoring. The Environmental Science Collection describes new tools and technologies for remote sensing, GIS, and photogrammetric environmental monitoring. UCD has access to several hundred titles.
- Wageningen e-book collection: food scienceTitles: Agriculture (6)
Animal Sciences (179)
Dutch language titles (13)
Environmental Sciences (83)
Food and Health Sciences (111)
Plant Sciences (52)
Social Sciences (123)
Special Collections
Special Collections contains unique book, archival and manuscript collections. UCD students and staff, and external users can consult the collections in the Special Collections reading room. Special Collections is located on Level 1 of the James Joyce Library.
Print Books
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch. The following is a sample of core Stage One Textbooks we hold.
Campbell Biology by Call Number: James Joyce, Long Loan Collection 570 CAMISBN: 0321739752Publication Date: 2011
Enhancing Agricultural Innovation by
An innovation system can be defined as a network of organizations, enterprises, and individuals demanding and supplying knowledge and bringing it into a social and economic use. This book's primary aim, therefore, is to focus on the largely unexplored operational aspects of the innvoation systems concept and to explore its potential for agriculture.'Enhancing Agricultural Innovation' evaluates real-world innovation systems and assesses the usefulness of the concept in guiding investments to support knowledge-intensive, sustainable agricultural development. A typology of innovation systems is developed; strategies to guide investments for strengthening innovation capacity are drawn up; and concrete interventions options defined.In its conclusions, the book emphasizes the importance of mechanisms for collaboration and interaction. Intermediary organizations, innovation councils, farmer organizations, and other means to strengthen collaboration are central to creating the exchange of knowledge and perspectives that will convert knowledge into valuable new social and economic products and services.
Call Number: James Joyce, Development Studies 338.16 WORISBN: 9780821367414Publication Date: 2006-11-03
How to Ace Calculus by Call Number: James Joyce 515 ADA Short and 4 hour loan copiesISBN: 0716731606Publication Date: 1998
Introduction to Human Nutrition by Call Number: James Joyce, Short Loan Collection 612.39 INT Multiple CopiesISBN: 1405168072Publication Date: 2009
Online Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems by
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, Second Edition addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face. Questions it addresses include: Will we be able to produce enough food to meet the increasing dietary needs and wants of the additional two billion people expected to inhabit our planet by 2050? Will we be able to meet the need for so much more food while simultaneously reducing adverse environmental effects of today's agriculture practices? Will we be able to produce the additional food using less land and water than we use now? These are among the most important challenges that face our planet in the coming decades. The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work. Addresses important challenges of sustainability and efficiency from a global perspective. Takes a detailed look at the important issues affecting the agricultural and food industries today. Full colour throughout.
ISBN: 9780080931395Publication Date: 2014-07-29
Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences by
Dairy Science includes the study of milk and milk-derived food products, examining the biological, chemical, physical, and microbiological aspects of milk itself as well as the technological (processing) aspects of the transformation of milk into its various consumer products, including beverages, fermented products, concentrated and dried products, butter and ice cream. This new edition includes information on the possible impact of genetic modification of dairy animals, safety concerns of raw milk and raw milk products, peptides in milk, dairy-based allergies, packaging and shelf-life and other topics of importance and interest to those in dairy research and industry. Fully reviewed, revised and updated with the latest developments in Dairy Science Full color inserts in each volume illustrate key concepts Extended index for easily locating information
ISBN: 9780123744074Publication Date: 2011-03-25
Encyclopedia of Food and Health by
The Encyclopedia of Food and Health provides users with a solid bridge of current and accurate information spanning food production and processing, from distribution and consumption to health effects. The Encyclopedia comprises five volumes, each containing comprehensive, thorough coverage, and a writing style that is succinct and straightforward. Users will find this to be a meticulously organized resource of the best available summary and conclusions on each topic. Written from a truly international perspective, and covering of all areas of food science and health in over 550 articles, with extensive cross-referencing and further reading at the end of each chapter, this updated encyclopedia is an invaluable resource for both research and educational needs. Identifies the essential nutrients and how to avoid their deficiencies Explores the use of diet to reduce disease risk and optimize health Compiles methods for detection and quantitation of food constituents, food additives and nutrients, and contaminants Contains coverage of all areas of food science and health in nearly 700 articles, with extensive cross-referencing and further reading at the end of each chapter
ISBN: 0123849535Publication Date: 2015-08-26
Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology by
Written by the world's leading scientists and spanning over 400 articles in three volumes, the Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology, Second Edition is a complete, highly structured guide to current knowledge in the field. Fully revised and updated, this encyclopedia reflects the key advances in the field since the first edition was published in 1999 The articles in this key work, heavily illustrated and fully revised since the first edition in 1999, highlight advances in areas such as genomics and food safety to bring users up-to-date on microorganisms in foods. Topics such as DNA sequencing and E. coli are particularly well covered. With lists of further reading to help users explore topics in depth, this resource will enrich scientists at every level in academia and industry, providing fundamental information as well as explaining state-of-the-art scientific discoveries. This book is designed to allow disparate approaches (from farmers to processors to food handlers and consumers) and interests to access accurate and objective information about the microbiology of foods. Microbiology impacts the safe presentation of food. From harvest and storage to determination of shelf-life, to presentation and consumption. This work highlights the risks of microbial contamination and is an invaluable go-to guide for anyone working in Food Health and Safety. Has a two-fold industry appeal (1) those developing new functional food products and (2) to all corporations concerned about the potential hazards of microbes in their food products.
ISBN: 9780123847331Publication Date: 2014-04-02
Encyclopedia of Food Safety by
With the world's growing population, the provision of a safe, nutritious and wholesome food supply for all has become a major challenge. To achieve this, effective risk management based on sound science and unbiased information is required by all stakeholders, including the food industry, governments and consumers themselves. In addition, the globalization of the food supply requires the harmonization of policies and standards based on a common understanding of food safety among authorities in countries around the world. With some 280 chapters, the Encyclopedia of Food Safety provides unbiased and concise overviews which form in total a comprehensive coverage of a broad range of food safety topics, which may be grouped under the following general categories: History and basic sciences that support food safety; Foodborne diseases, including surveillance and investigation; Foodborne hazards, including microbiological and chemical agents; Substances added to food, both directly and indirectly; Food technologies, including the latest developments; Food commodities, including their potential hazards and controls; Food safety management systems, including their elements and the roles of stakeholders. The Encyclopedia provides a platform for experts from the field of food safety and related fields, such as nutrition, food science and technology and environment to share and learn from state-of-the art expertise with the rest of the food safety community. Assembled with the objective of facilitating the work of those working in the field of food safety and related fields, such as nutrition, food science and technology and environment - this work covers the entire spectrum of food safety topics into one comprehensive reference work The Editors have made every effort to ensure that this work meets strict quality and pedagogical thresholds such as: contributions by the foremost authorities in their fields; unbiased and concise overviews on a multitude of food safety subjects; references for further information, and specialized and general definitions for food safety terminology In maintaining confidence in the safety of the food supply, sound scientific information is key to effectively and efficiently assessing, managing and communicating on food safety risks. Yet, professionals and other specialists working in this multidisciplinary field are finding it increasingly difficult to keep up with developments outside their immediate areas of expertise. This single source of concise, reliable and authoritative information on food safety has, more than ever, become a necessity
ISBN: 0123786134Publication Date: 2013-12-12
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition by Call Number: James Joyce, Reference 613.203 ENCISBN: 012227055XPublication Date: 2003
Search Across Our Collections
Problems searching? Click here
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License