Art History and Cultural Policy: Key Websites

What is cinnabar? What is a rhyton? The Getty vocabularies contain structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, visual surrogates, conservation, and bibliographic materials.

A portal to the Metropolitan Museum, New York's comprehensive publishing program with over 1,500 titles including books, catalogues, online publications and bulletins from the last five decades.

Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives. This wide variety of books covers the fields of art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, and the humanities for both the general public and specialists.

The Dictionary of Irish Architects contains biographical and bibliographical information on architects, builders and craftsmen born or working in Ireland during the period 1720 to 1940, and information on the buildings on which they worked.

Useful for Government Publications

Useful for Government Publications

The National Trust for Ireland

Contains publications from AD 1695 to the present day on archaeology and the historic environment, historic buildings, maritime and industrial archaeology, environmental history, and the conservation of material culture - with a geographical focus on Britain and Ireland.

The National Irish Visual Arts Library (NIVAL) is a public research resource dedicated to the documentation of 20th and 21st century Irish visual art and design.

There are approximately 100,000 works in the Prints & Drawings collection, an estimated 15,000 originating with the RDS Library and the collection of Dr. Jaspar Joly, which were transferred to the National Library of Ireland on its establishment in 1877.