Art History and Cultural Policy: Books & eBooks
Finding Books using OneSearch
Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections
Short Loan Collection
The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.
The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.
Special Collections contains unique book, archival and manuscript collections. UCD students and staff, and external users can consult the collections in the Special Collections reading room. Special Collections is located on Level 1 of the James Joyce Library.
Books for Art History and Cultural Policy
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful titles available via UCD Library include:
- The Dictionary of Art (Grove Dictionary of Art) by Jane Turner (Editor)ISBN: 0195170687Publication Date: 2003-02-11Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. The Dictionary ranges far both geographically and historically; it features unparalleled coverage of Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome. Providing depth as well as breadth, The Dictionary of Art examines important art forms and key issues of design, taste, function, and patronage, illuminating them in light of the cultural context in which they developed.
- This comprehensive electronic library consists of scholarly and peer reviewed books in the humanities.
- An extensive multidisciplinary collection of online titles covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.
- Art and Architecture of Ireland: Medieval C. 400-C. 1600 by Rachel Moss (Editor)Call Number: 709.415 ART, James Joyce, ReferenceISBN: 9780300179194Publication Date: 2014-12-16
- Art and Architecture of Ireland: Painting, 1600-1900 by Nicola Figgis (Editor)Call Number: 709.415 ART, James Joyce, ReferenceISBN: 9780300179200Publication Date: 2014-12-16
- Art and Architecture of Ireland: Sculpture 1600-2000 by Paula Murphy (Editor)Call Number: 709.415 ART, James Joyce, ReferenceISBN: 0300179219Publication Date: 2014-12-16
- Art and Architecture of Ireland: Architecture, 1600-2000 by Rolf Loeber; Hugh Campbell; Livia Hurley; John Montague; Ellen RowleyCall Number: 709.415 ART, James Joyce, ReferenceISBN: 9780300179224Publication Date: 2014-12-16
- Art and Architecture of Ireland: Twentieth Century by Catherine Marshall; Peter MurrayCall Number: 709.415 ART, James Joyce, ReferenceISBN: 0300179235Publication Date: 2014-12-16
Reference Books for Art History and Cultural Policy
Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information.
Useful online reference material for Art History and Cultural Policy include:
- Oxford Art Online (OUP) This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography (RIA) This link opens in a new windowThe Dictionary of Irish Biography is Ireland's national biographical dictionary. Devised, researched, written and edited under the auspices of the Royal Irish Academy, its online edition covers nearly 11,000 lives. It describes and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (OUP) This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative biographical resource offering access to over 50,000 biographies of distinguished persons from all walks of life who have shaped the lives of the British Isles and beyond. Coverage: from earliest time to 2002. Includes deceased persons only. Powerful advanced search capabilities. Print version available in James Joyce Library at GR920.042/DIC.
- Oxford Reference Online (OUP) This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Where in the Library?
Most print material related to Art History, & Cultural Policy is held on level 2 of the James Joyce Library.
Art History material is mainly located in the 700's. Reference books are in the "Reference" section in the 700's. Books are in the "General" or "Large Books" sections, in the 700's.
Older issues of journals are in the "Journals" section in the 700's. Journals from the current year are in the section marked "Current Journals" on the map.
Cultural Policy material can be found in the 300's.
Please ask Library staff for help locating this material if required.
Useful material may also be found in the Architecture & Planning Library in Richvew.
- Books & eBooks
- Journal Articles & Databases
- Tutorials and Videos
- Key Websites
- Citing Information & Avoiding Plagiarism
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License
- Last Updated: Mar 10, 2023 9:23 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/arthistoryculturalpolicy
- Print Page