- Library
- LibGuides
- Student Guides
- Archaeology
- Datasets & Statistics
Archaeology: Datasets & Statistics
Data Analysis
UCD IT Services provide access for students to a range of data analysis software packages, including NVivo, SPSS and Stata. These can be downloaded or accessed through the UCD Connect page - selecting the Software Download option for NVivo. Stata and SPSS are available via AppsAnywhere.
A full listing of the applications available and instructions for downloading can be found here.
Please contact IT Services for more information (https://fujitsuireland.service-now.com/itucd)
Useful Datasets
- Excavations.ieDatabase of Irish Excavation Reports
- HeritageMaps.ieThe Heritage Maps viewer is a web-based spatial data viewer which focuses on the built, cultural and natural heritage around Ireland and off shore. The 'Guide to Datasets in Heritage Maps' gives the folder layout & content arrangement of the main map-viewer.
- National Monuments ServiceIncluding Archaeological Survey Database
- Post-Medieval Ireland Excavations DatabaseA project to summarize all post-medieval sites excavated in Ireland from 1970 onwards was conceived by the IPMAG as part of it's mission to promote and disseminate information on post-medieval archaeology in Ireland.
- Archaeology Data Service (UK)The UK's digital repository for heritage data
- ARIADNEA data infrastructure serving the archaeological community worldwide
- Consortium of European Social Science Data ArchivesNational data archives for social science teaching and research in Europe (also provides links to Australia and USA archives).
- UK Data Archive (UKDA)Contains the largest collection of digital data in the Social Sciences and Humanities in the U.K.
- Data.europa.eu ArchaeologyGeoreferenced layer of the main sites, areas and archaeological parks of Sicily. Theme written with the collaboration of the University of Palermo, Laboratory of Ancient Topography — Department of Archaeology.
- The Strategic Environmental Archaeology Database (SEAD)SEAD, or the Strategic Environmental Archaeology Database, is a national research infrastructure for archaeology and an international standard database for environmental archaeology data. It is being developed and managed at the Environmental Archaeology Lab (MAL), in collaboration with HUMlab at Umeå University, Sweden.
- Comparative Archaeology DatabaseThe Comparative Archaeology Database of the University of Pittsburgh Center for Comparative Archaeology publishes primary archaeological data to complement more traditional means of publication, such as journals, collections of articles, and monographs (including those published by the Center itself).
- The Digital Archaeological RecordRepository of digital records of archaeological investigations.
- Journal of Open Archaeology DataThe Journal of Open Archaeology Data (JOAD) features peer reviewed data papers describing archaeology datasets with high reuse potential.
Finding Data Tutorial
As a student you are probably using research data for assignments in which your findings are based on evidence you have gathered. Use this tutorial to help you understand the types of data available for reuse, where to find these data and how to use them in your own research.
At the end of this 10-minute tutorial, you will be able to:
- Identify what data are and how they can be used for research.
- Understand the process of collecting data.
- Understand best practice in re-using data.
- Identify reliable sources of data for your assignments and research.
Connect With Us!
Creative Commons license
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License