Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Style Guide 17th Edition: Archival or Manuscript Collections

This referencing style guide is based on the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition. It has many different reference types. It gives detailed examples of how these references should be formatted in the "Notes and Bibliography" style.

Archival or Manuscript Collections - Letters

As noted previously, CMOS dictates that it is sufficient to provide an in-text citation and a footnote for a correspondence. If the source is of particular importance to a piece, a full reference can be included, see examples below. Seek guidance from your module coordinator on what they expect.

Footnote: 

#. First name Last name sender to First name Last name recipient(s), Day Month Year of correspondence, location in collection (box no. etc.), Name of Collection/Papers, Name of Archive, Name of Institution, City/Country (if unclear), URL.

Example:

4. Mairin Mitchell to Desmond Ryan, 2 February 1940, UCDA LA10/146, Papers of Desmond Ryan, UCD Archives, University College Dublin Library, Ireland.

Reference: 

If more than one item from a collection is cited, format bibliography entry as below.

Name of Collection/Papers or Author of Collection. Name of Archive, Name of Institution, City/Country (if unclear). URL. 

If only one item from a collection is cited, format bibliography entry as below.

Sender Last name, First name. Description of item, Day Month Year. Name of Collection/Papers. Name of Archive, Name of Institution, Name of City/Country (if unclear). URL.
 

Example:

More than one item cited in piece.

Papers of Desmond Ryan. UCD Archives, University College Dublin, Ireland.

One item cited in piece.

Mitchell, Mairin. Letter to Desmond Ryan, 2 February 1940. Papers of Desmond Ryan. UCD Archives. University College Dublin Library, Ireland.
 

Still unsure what in-text citation and referencing mean? Check here

Still unsure why you need to reference all this information? Check here

Archival or Manuscript Collections - Diaries

CMOS dictates that it is sufficient to provide and in-text citation an a footnote for a diary entry. If the source is of particular importance to a piece, a full reference can be included, see examples below. Seek guidance from your module coordinator on what they expect.

Footnote: 

#. First name Last name author(s), Description (e.g. Diary Entry), Day Month Year of entry/diary, location in collection (box no. etc.), Name of Collection/Papers, Name of Archive, Name of Institution, City/Country (if unclear), URL.

Example:

5. Kathleen Lynn, Diary Entry, 27 April 1916, KL, Kathleen Lynn Diaries, Archives, RCPI Heritage Centre, Royal College of Physicians of Ireland, https://www.rcpi.ie/heritage-centre/1916-2/revolutionary-diary-kathleen-lynn/.

Reference: 

If more than one item from a collection is cited, format bibliography entry as below.

Name of Collection/Papers or Author of Diary. Name of Archive, Name of Institution, City/Country (if unclear). URL.

If only one item from a collection is cited, format bibliography entry as below.

Author(s) Last name, First name. Diary entry, Day Month Year. Name of Collection/Papers. Name of Archive, Name of Institution, Name of City/Country (if unclear). URL.

Example:

More than one item cited in piece.

Kathleen Lynn Diaries. Archives, RCPI Heritage Centre, Royal College of Physicians Ireland. https://www.rcpi.ie/heritage-centre/1916-2/revolutionary-diary-kathleen-lynn/.

Further details on citing Archival or Manuscript collections is available on pages 854 - 857 of the CMOS, 17th Edition.  

Creative Commons license