- Library
- LibGuides
- Student Guides
- Economics
- Books & eBooks
Economics: Books & eBooks
Where in the Library?
Most print material related to economics can be found in the 330's on level 4 of the James Joyce Library.
Look out for the Irish Economics section which is shelved at 330IR - before the rest of 330.
Finding Books using OneSearch
Watch a short tutorial on how to find print books and ebooks using OneSearch:
Short Loan & 4-Hour Collections
Short Loan Collection
The Short Loan Collection (SLC) contains multiple copies of books in demand, or on reading lists and can be borrowed for 7 days.
4-Hour Collection
The 4-Hour Loan collection contains items that are in very high demand at certain times of the year. You can borrow and take these books anywhere in the Library, but they cannot be taken out of the Library building.
Books for Economics
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. You can also browse the collection to find books for your research. The relevant shelf marks include, but are not limited to::
- 330 Economics
- 331 Labor economics
- 332 Financial economics
- 333 Economics of land & energy
- 334 Cooperatives
- 335 Socialism & related systems
- 336 Public finance
- 337 International economics
- 338 Production
- 339 Macroeconomics & related topics
A selection of useful book titles available via UCD Library include:
Data Analysis for Business, Economics, and Policy by Call Number: 330.0721 BÉKPublication Date: 2021This textbook provides future data analysts with the tools, methods, and skills needed to answer data-focused, real-life questions; to carry out data analysis; and to visualize and interpret results to support better decisions in business, economics, and public policy. Data wrangling and exploration, regression analysis, machine learning, and causal analysis are comprehensively covered, as well as when, why, and how the methods work, and how they relate to each other.
Economics by Call Number: 330.1 BAUPublication Date: 2019The authors combine the right level of rigor and detail to clarify even the most complicated economic concepts. Throughout this edition, well-developed examples, intriguing puzzles and meaningful economic issues provide an excellent balance of theory to application while keeping you engaged and intrigued.
International Economics by Call Number: 337 SALPublication Date: 2019This comprehensive textbook explains the concepts necessary to understand, evaluate, and address the economic problems and issues the nations of the world are currently facing, and are likely to face in the future. Balancing depth and accessibility, the text helps students identify the real-world relevance of the material through extensive practical applications and examples.
An Introduction to Geographical and Urban Economics by Call Number: 330.9 BRAPublication Date: 2019A comprehensive introduction to both urban and geographical economics: the two dominant approaches used to explain the distribution of economic activity across space. The authors provide both state-of-the-art theories and empirics, introducing new data, methods and models for this edition, including a whole chapter dedicated to measurement issues and empirical methods.
Books and eBooks are listed in OneSearch, our resource discovery service. Useful ebook titles and ebook databases available via UCD Library include:
You're Paid What You're Worth by Publication Date: 2021A myth-busting book challenges the idea that we're paid according to objective criteria and places power and social conflict at the heart of economic analysis. Your pay depends on your productivity and occupation. If you earn roughly the same as others in your job, with the precise level determined by your performance, then you're paid market value.
The Death of Human Capital? by Publication Date: 2020Human capital theory, or the notion that there is a direct relationship between educational investment and individual and national prosperity, has dominated public policy on education and labor for the past fifty years. The authors argue that the human capital story is one of false promise: investing in learning isn't the road to higher earnings and national prosperity.
Handbook of Cultural Economics, Third Edition by Publication Date: 2020Cultural economics has become well established as a subject of interest for students and instructors of courses ranging from economics to arts administration as well as for policy-makers and practitioners in the creative industries.
Post Corona by Publication Date: 2020A keenly insightful, urgent analysis of who stands to win and who's at risk to lose in a post-pandemic world. The COVID-19 outbreak has turned bedrooms into offices, pitted young against old, and widened the gaps between rich and poor, red and blue, the mask wearers and the mask haters.
Remaking the Real Economy by Publication Date: 2020Debunking the myths around the current economic belief systems, this book reveals how mainstream perspectives work for the benefit of the organised money establishment, while causing all manner of destructions, inequalities and frauds, all conspiring against the common good. Focused on the realities of organisational systems, Pearson offers a practical alternative to economic dogma.
The Economics of Money, Banking and Financial Markets by Publication Date: 2019The Economics of Money, Banking and Financial Markets brings a fresh perspective to today's major questions surrounding financial policy. Influenced by his term as Governor of the Federal Reserve, Frederic Mishkin offers students a unique viewpoint and insight into the monetary policy process, the regulation and supervision of the financial system, and the internationalization of financial markets.
Essentials of economics by Publication Date: 2019In a world full of volatility, uncertainty and conflicting approaches, this concise text in introductory economics looks at the key economic issues of today and helps you make sense of them. This new edition has been updated with the most recent data and coverage of economic issues such as growth, unemployment, the environment, Brexit and behavioural economics.
An Introduction to Behavioral Economics by Publication Date: 2017Offering an inter-disciplinary approach, the authors incorporate psychology, evolutionary biology and neuroscience into the discussions. And, ultimately, they consider what it means to be 'rational', why we so often indulge in 'irrational' and self-harming behavior, and also why 'irrational' behavior can sometimes serve us well. A perfect book for economics students studying behavioural economics at higher undergraduate level or Master's level.
Doing Economics by Publication Date: 2016Doing Economics offers a clear and accessible guide to the nature of Economics. Unlike many other mainstream disciplines, economics is a subject that many students meet for the first time when they arrive at University to study the subject at degree level. The way economics is studied at university level can vary greatly from economics as represented in the media, but this handy beginner's guide bridges that gap.
Economics by Publication Date: 2001Completely updated and restructured to reflect the new AS/A Level Economics specifications, this highly acclaimed and well respected text book is written in a student friendly manner.
- ACLS Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive electronic library consists of scholarly and peer reviewed books in the humanities.
- Academic Complete
A multidisciplinary collection of over 180,000 scholarly titles from hundreds of leading academic publishers. eBooks are made available on ProQuest's eBook Central platform. Offers unlimited, multi-user access. To view content for specific disciplines, simply select from the "Browse Subject" option page
- Handbooks in Economics (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Backfile content (up to 1999). The handbooks cover a broad set of topics. Each chapter provides professional researchers, lecturers and students with accurate, self-contained surveys, written and edited by the leading authorities in their field.
Reference items are helpful for finding background information; definitions and spelling; facts and figures; translations; statistics and topical overviews of subjects. Reference books can be found both in print and online. See here for further information
Useful online reference material for Economics include:
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance by Publication Date: 2006Designed for the nonspecialist, the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a 2-vol. complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include executives, government administrators and scholars from leading business programs from around the United States.
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences by Publication Date: 2007The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by Publication Date: 2015Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Covering the social and behavioural sciences, SAGE Knowledge provides access to thousands of scholarly eBooks published by SAGE. The collection also includes hundreds of award-winning reference titles including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks which provide students with the perfect place to start their research.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are learning, teaching and research materials in any format and medium that reside in the public domain or are under copyright that have been released under an open license, that permit no-cost access, re-use, re-purpose, adaptation and redistribution by others. (source: UNESCO)
- Directory of Open Access BooksDOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
- OER CommonsOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
- Pressbooks DirectoryPressbooks Directory is a free, searchable catalog that includes 5,387 open access books published by 157 organizations and networks using Pressbooks. It's easy to copy, revise, remix, and redistribute any openly licensed content found here using Pressbooks' publishing platform. Nearly all books are highly accessible, and many include interactive H5P learning activities to engage learners.
Connect With Us!
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License