Skip to Main Content

Economics: Journal Articles & Databases

Information about books, journals, databases, official publications and other useful economics resources.

Some Key Economics Journals in English

Search for a Journal Title

Not seeing a searchbox? Click here

What Is Peer Review?

Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.

Key Datababases for Economics

RePEc: Research Papers in Economics

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 102 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it.

EconLit

The American Economic Association’s electronic bibliography. EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations. Includes records from the RePEc database of Research Papers in Economics.

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - currently.

Economist Historical Archive (1843-2007)

More than 160 years of articles from the Economist are available online with The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2007.

Scopus

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Finding Articles on Reading Lists

Try this first

You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.

Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.

If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.

Next steps:

If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"

For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf

For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.

Full Lists of Databases and eJournals

Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:

Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals

Pick your subject for a full list of databases