EndNote: EndNote Online & tutorials

Introduction to Library support for EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online.

Using EndNote online

There are three ways of adding references to your EndNote Online Library:

Manually adding references

Click on the Collect tab and then on the New Reference link.
Before you start entering your information you need to select the appropriate Reference Type. You need to change it to reflect the reference you adding to your library (e.g. Book, Journal Article, Conference Proceeding).
Creating the reference is a simple matter of filling in the fields with the information that you have, e.g. author, title or publisher.
Click in the field you want to edit and it will expand to allow you to enter your information. Clicking outside the box automatically saves the information you have entered.

From OneSearch

Search OneSearch to find information on your topic
From the displayed results click on the folder icon beside the first five references
These references will be added to the large folder at the top of the screen
Click on the folder to view your selected references.
Go to the Export As Dropdown menu and select EndNote
From the next screen select Save File and save the file to your computer.
Go back to Endnote Online
Click on the Collect tab and select import references
In the File: box click on browse and locate the file you just saved to your computer. It will be saved in the Downloads folder in the My Documents folder.
From the Filter: dropdown menu scroll down until you locate Proquest
In the To: dropdown menu select the Unfiled folder and Click on Import
Click on the My references Tab, select Unfiled folder and you will see your references.

From Databases

There are two ways of adding references from databases. The method you choose depends on whether the database offers a direct export option.

Search your database and select your references.
Locate and enter the export option in your database interface.
If the Direct Export to EndNote Web is listed as an option select this and the database will add your reference to the unfiled folder in your EndNote Online library. You may be asked to login if you haven't been already in your library.

If there is no option for Direct Export, there will be usually an option to export to EndNote or at the very least to RIS Format.
Select this option and save the file to your computer.
Go back to Endnote Online.
Click on the Collect tab and select Import References.
In the File: box click on browse and locate the file you just saved to your computer.
From the Filter: dropdown menu scroll down until you locate the database you searched.
In the To: dropdown menu select the Unfiled folder and Click on Import.

Creating Groups

The Group feature allows you to divide your records by topic or other criteria. If you don't do this all references will be saved in the Unfiled folder.

Go to the Organize tab and select Groups.
Click on the New Group button and give the new group a suitable name.
To add references go to the My References tab.
Clicking on the All My References link will list all references in your library.
Tick the box beside the references you want to add to a group.
At the top of the list of references will be a dropdown menu listing all your groups. Select your group and the references will be copied directly to your chosen group.

Sharing Groups
You can also share your references with others in EndNote Online.

While in the Groups section of the Organize tab tick the box beside the group you want to share and click on the Manage Sharing button.
Add the email addresses of other people who are registered with EndNote Online and they will be notified that they have been given access to your group.
There are two levels of access: Read Only, which only gives people the option to view the references in your group or Read and Write, which allows people to add and delete references in your group.

Removing Duplicates

If you have been searching a number of databases you may have collected the same record more than once.

In the Organize tab click on Find Duplicates and EndNote Web will list all duplicate references with the box beside the duplicate record already selected.
Click on the Delete button to remove the duplicates.

Bibliography

You can use this feature to easily and quickly create a bibliography of references in your library.

Click on the Format tab and select Bibliography.
Select the group that you want create a bibliography from.
Select your Bibliographic Style.
Select the File Format that you want the bibliography to be in.
Then select whether you want to email, print or preview your bibliography.

In order to insert references from your EndNote Online Library into a Microsoft Word document you will need to install the Cite While You Write toolbar. You can install this from the Format tab in Endnote Online.

Inserting references

Use Insert Citation Insert citations to find the references you want and to insert them into your document.

Clicking on Insert Citation will open a search box.
Enter the search term and click on search.
You will be presented with a list of references that meet your search criteria.
Select the reference that you want to insert.
You can select multiple references by holding the Control key while you click on the references you want.
When you have selected your references click OK and your references will be added to your document at the point where you have placed your cursor.
You will also see a bibliograpy created at the end of the document.

Editing citations

If you have inserted references in your document and need to remove or edit them you must always use the edit citations option.

First click on the reference you want to remove or edit and then select Manage and Edit Citation(s)

Remove Citations

Highlight the reference you want to remove.
Click on Edit Reference drop down menu on the right and select Remove Citation and then click on OK.
The chosen reference will be removed from your document.

Add an extra citation where there already is a citation

First click on the citation where you want to add an extra citation and then select Edit Citation(s).
Highlight the citation in question.
Click on the Edit Reference drop down menu on the right and select Insert Citation.
This will open the search interface.
Search for the reference you want to add to your document and click on Insert when you have chosen it.
Click OK and the chosen reference will be added to your document.

Add page numbers to a citation

First click on the citation where you want to add page numbers and then select Edit Citation(s).
Highlight the citation in question.
At the bottom of the screen select the suffix option
Enter the notation for page numbers of your chosen referencing style.
Click OK and the page numbers will be added to your chosen citation.

Selecting your referencing style

You can select or change your referencing style at any stage of writing.

Open the Style dropdown menu
The dropdown menu displays all the styles to the latter D. If the style you want to use is not listed click on Select Another Style, which is the first option listed.
Browse to the style you want and click OK.
The citations and bibliography in your Word document will change to reflect the new style you've chosen.

Merge chapters into a master document

EndNote allows you to combine a number of chapters into one document.

Open the first document you want to merge and choose the Convert to Unformatted Citations optionwhich is in the Convert Citations and Bibliography dropdown menu.
Clicking this will remove the formatted bibliography and citations, and replace all citations with plain-text placeholders that EndNote can use when assembling the citations and bibliography when combining all chapters together.
Repeat this for all chapters and then copy and paste them into a new document, When ready click on Update Citations and Bibliography and EndNote will recreate the citations and bibliography for your document.
NB: This will work but in case anything goes wrong it is prudent to work from a back up of your documents.

Convert to Plain Text

Publishers request that plain text versions of your documents be sent to them because field coding used for EndNote citations can sometimes cause problems for publishers’ desktop publishing programs.

Open the document you want to convert to plain text and choose the Convert to Plain Text option which is in the Convert Citations and Bibliography dropdown menu.
If you haven't saved your document you will prompted to do so. Be sure to do this as you will need the version of the document with the EndNote coding for future editing.
When you have finished you will have two versions of your document. If you can't tell them apart, click on a citation or the bibliography. If a grey highlight appears that is the version with the EndNote coding.
NB: This will work but in case anything goes wrong it is prudent to work from a back up of your documents.