- Student Guides
- Journal Articles and Databases
Medicine: Journal Articles and Databases
Full Lists of Databases and eJournals
Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:
Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals
What Is Peer Review?
Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.
Finding Articles on Reading Lists
Try this first
You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.
Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.
If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.
If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"
For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf
For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.
Try one of these key databases for your subject:
- Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new windowThe MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- EMBASE (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowEMBASE (Excerpta Medica) is a comprehensive bibliographic database that covers the worldwide literature on biomedical and pharmaceutical fields.
- PubMedPubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- BMJ Best PracticeBest Practice is an evidence-based decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. All residents of the Republic of Ireland can access the BMJ Best Practice for free, thanks to funding for a national license by the HSE National Health Library and Knowledge Service. There is no requirement to login, but you can register for a free personal account to customize your experience of the platform. You can also download the BMJ Best Practice app (while in Ireland) and use it offline (anywhere).
- PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO is the American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed.
- British National Formulary (MedicinesComplete) This link opens in a new windowThe BNF provides healthcare professionals with authoritative and practical information on the selection and clinical use of medicines in a clear, concise and accessible manner. Hosted on the MedicinesComplete (Pharmaceutical Press) platform, BNF data is updated twice a year.
- Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is available on campus only.
- Trip DatabaseTrip is a tool for you to find and use high-quality clinical research evidence.
- Last Updated: Feb 2, 2023 12:23 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucd.ie/medicine
- Print Page