Physiotherapy: Journal Articles and Databases

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful Physiotherapy resources

Full Lists of Databases and eJournals

Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:

Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals

Pick your subject for a full list of databases

What Is Peer Review?

Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.

Finding Articles on Reading Lists

Try this first

You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.

Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.

If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.

Next steps:

If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"

For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf

For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.

Key Databases

Try one of these key databases for your subject:

PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 27,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Covers sport, physical fitness, and physical education. Indexes the practical and research literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology of sports, and related topics. Also covers recreation, games, play, and dance. Records for journal/magazine articles, web sites, unpublished research, dissertations, books, proceedings, and audiovisual material. International and interdisciplinary coverage.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
An authoritative source of full text and bibliographic information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare, dating back to 1937. Full text material includes nearly 800 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a website that provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It is available on campus only.
ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes online eBooks, reference works, handbooks, book series, journal titles and backfiles.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL) provides a single source of almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature. Access is given to journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEEE).