Skip to Main Content

Social Policy and Social Work: Journal Articles & Databases

Information about books, journals, databases and other useful social policy and social work resources.

Finding Articles on Reading Lists

Try this first

You can look up articles in OneSearch, our resource discovery service.

Put the exact title of the article in inverted commas.

If we can provide an instant link you will see the journal article displayed - click Full Text Online to access the text.

Next steps:

If we cannot provide a quick article link or it fails, then search for the name of the whole Journal instead of the article title e.g. "Journal of Common Market Studies"

For print-only journals you will be shown the location and shelfmark, so that you can locate the volume on the shelf

For electronic journals, click to link to the full journal and then navigate to the year, volume and issue that you want to see your article: or there may be an option to search for the article title provided by the online journal portal in which case key in the article in that box.

What Is Peer Review?

Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments.

Search for a Journal Title

Not seeing a searchbox? Click here

Key Databases for Social Policy and Social Work

Social Services Abstracts

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.

Sociological Abstracts

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

ASSIA - Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts

An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database

This database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control from U.S. and international publications from 1975 to the present.

ScienceDirect Journals

ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes online eBooks, reference works, handbooks, book series, journal titles and backfiles.

Violence and Abuse Abstracts

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Web of Science

This multidisciplinary research platform lets users search numerous databases simultaneously via one interface.

Key Journals for Social Policy & Social Work

Irish Social Worker

The journal of the Irish Association of Social Workers

Bbritish Journal of Social Work

The journal of the British Association of Social Workers.

European Journal of Social Work

The European Journal of Social Work provides a forum for the social professions in all parts of Europe and beyond. It analyses and promotes European and international developments in social work, social policy, social service institutions, and strategies for social change by publishing refereed papers on contemporary key issues.

Journal of Social Work Practice

This journal promotes the use of psychodynamic and systemic perspectives to explore and explain social work practice and relationship-based practice.

Social Work Education

Social Work Education publishes articles of a critical and reflective nature concerned with the theory and practice of social care and social work education at all levels.

Journal of Social Policy

The Journal of Social Policy carries articles on all aspects of social policy in an international context.

Critical Social Policy

Critical Social Policy is a peer reviewed journal that provides an international forum for advocacy, analysis and debate on social policy issues.

Irish Journal of Applied Social Studies

The Irish Journal of Applied Social Studies (IJASS) was founded in 1998 and is published by Social Care Ireland.

Journal of International and Comparative Social Policy

The Journal of International and Comparative Social Policy publishes articles on all dimensions of comparative and international social policy

Children and Youth Services Review

Children and Youth Services Review is an interdisciplinary forum for critical scholarship regarding service programs for children and youth.

Full Lists of Databases and eJournals

Follow these links and pick a subject to see a longer listing for your subject:

Pick your subject for a full list of eJournals

Pick your subject for a full list of databases